Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Letting the Silt Settle, Letting the Psyche Settle

with 2 comments

This was taken along the shores of one of the river-canals that wend their way through the city of Changzhou. As I understand it (and understanding reality in China is not all that easy or certain), there are three rivers that wind their way through the city. A river doesn’t look any different from a canal from an observation point of view. Asking others who are Chinese gets mixed responses as few actually know the city other than their particular neighborhoods, even those who have spent their whole life in this city. This makes me think of how we only know parts of our own self, parts that are the easiest to access down familiar well-worn trails of thought and feeling.

I have been feeling both full and empty of late, a feeling that has resulted in me standing still and doing very little other than teaching my courses at the university. I have been doubling up on a number of classes pushing my teaching load so that I can take a week off in mid-November in order to take a sunshine and snorkeling  holiday in the Philippines. I am looking forward to the warmth and the sunshine and the long beaches. I will have Internet connectivity so I imagine that time will be found in the evenings for posting here. As well as extra teaching, I have been listening to a number of Shrink Rap Radio podcasts that have a Jungian focus. The result has been a whirlwind of stuff floating within my head with nothing settling long enough so that I could find a calm period for writing here, writing with more depth.

Meditation remains an important part of my day that I try not missing. Sitting still, like this empty shell in the photo, brings me back to my core self, puts life back into place as things sort themselves out and settle.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 29, 2011 at 10:35 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The space to meditate is so important. Time without it makes me feel completely disconnected with myself. Little bits flying in all directions…

    Have you read Anne Morrow Lindberg’s book “Gift from the Sea’? Beautiful book using shells collected from the beach to meditate on her life.

    (Maybe good for your holiday!) 🙂

    Lotus Eater

    October 30, 2011 at 10:26 am

    • Thank you for the heads up on Lindberg’s book, Lotus – I will try to get an ebook version for my holiday, perhaps in a library somewhere. 🙂

      rgl

      November 2, 2011 at 3:48 pm


Leave a Reply

