Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Signals of Life in the Swamplands

with 2 comments

There isn’t a lot of detail to focus upon in this image and that is what I need today. Trying to find substance is not always easy. Sometimes each day begins to morph into other days, almost featureless and not worthy of remembering. I seem to want more than “waiting” for something as time slips away. Since we all have a limited number of days and hours to live, I wonder at the pointlessness of some of these days and hours. At times like these, even reading or listening to anything that has depth is avoided as much as possible. I find myself engaged in mindlessness, activities such as playing solitaire against a computer. And noticing my “wasting” of time I get angry with myself, telling myself that I should know better.

And in those moments, such as right at this moment, when I take a breath and become more gentle with myself, I realise that I can’t engage in depth all the time. All journeys must wander through swampland mud and muck where one feels the weight of low pressure and dullness pressing down. The swampland coats the lenses of vision with a fogginess that begs us to give in and go to sleep. And it is the refusal to sleep, the determination to slog on through the swamp, testing myself to be patient, to endure, that builds up a small pride in self. I discover reserves and strengths that had been hidden.

Lifting my head, I begin to see a bit of life in the swamp amid the detritus of discarded hopes and dreams, signals that there are hopes and dreams yet waiting for me.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 2, 2011 at 11:23 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for this Post and picture.
    In your former Post you sometimes indicated sort of similar aspects as you wrote in this Post today.
    I have wanted to write you sooner, but I postponed the issue time after time.

    As you wrote : “At times like these, even reading or listening to anything that has depth is avoided as much as possible.”
    I am “feeling and experiencing exactly the same” – although we are individuals and living so far apart.

    I agree of what you wrote : “I realize that I can’t engage in depth all the time”.
    But,… I wonder, is there something else at hand ….??
    What I mean to say is, that over the last period of time – do the other “searchers” like Jean or Urspo or John are experiencing the same things that we are experiencing now ?

    I have experienced these “fall backs” as I call them in the past, but the fall back that I am experiencing now is manifesting itself much longer than I use to have – it also robs me from my creativity – very strange !

    When the others are experiencing the same as we do – could there be something in the Collective that is touching us in some way ?

    I don’t know, maybe I am digging to deep and is it simple to explain that we need to sleep for a while – but it is frustrating that time is slipping by like sand that you are holding in a clenched fist and that there is nothing that you can do about.

    Opa Bear

    November 3, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    • It is something significant for me that you are feeling much of what I am feeling. As to the question of others, such as Urspo feeling similar kinds of things, I have a strong sense that many others are atuned to the same psychic dynamic. There is no question in my mind that we are experiencing the ripples from the collective unconscious, the stirrings all over the world of others “waking” and not feeling good about what they see and protesting. The energy levels of disharmony are high and it seems that it will get worse before the storm breaks.

      I agree with it being frustrating, unable to turn off a switch and let the world cool off for a bit. The best we can do my friend, is to be our honest selves, be authentic and refuse to play the games.

      rgl

      November 7, 2011 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

