Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Alignment and Metamorphosis

leave a comment »

Sunset on the Mekong River at Luang Prabang, Laos

I am coming to recognize the signals that ask me to slow down, to relax, to meditate. In looking for today’s photo, this sunset image caught my attention and took me back to the moment when I took it while in Laos. Rather than join a throng of tourists on top of Phu Si Hill, a small mountain in the small city of Luang Prabang, I found a quiet area with no tourists or even local people along the Mekong River.  The silence, the colour and the magic of sunset stilled me after a busy day of touring temples and artisan workshops.

Learning to be still is my task of the moment. Now that I have realised that I have changed a season in my life, I must, like a caterpillar, sit in a cocoon to allow transformative changes to take place.  I sense that the changes are not so small and that is both cause for celebration and panic. I also sense that as  I undergo this time of metamorphosis, that my wife is shifting and changing as well. Who began to change first? Whose change serves as catalyst for the change in the other? Will the changes result in even more alignment?

In my opinion, at this point in time, because we are so close, I would have to say that because of a host of minute changes that are taking place, we feed off each other taking turns in initiating or serving as catalyst for change.  Because we are resonating and responding to these changes, the likelihood of alignment is high. So, for now, I must simply sit back, meditate and learn.

Leave a Reply

