Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Going Underground

with 2 comments

Going underground

This image was captured in one of the many caves that I was able to explore in the Yucatan, one of the caves that became part of Mayan culture and survival. It was interesting learning about how the Mayans used these caves for escape as various threats that had appeared, threats such as the invasion by the Spanish during the 1500s. The rugged terrain pockmarked by holes which fell into deep caves, often containing pools of water that were fed from underground rivers as well as from rainwater, effectively allowed the Mayans to “go to ground.”

As my recent posts have been indicating, I have spiritually gone underground. This image is a good representation of just what I mean, especially if you look at the bottom right-hand side where, just above the field of light that is on the floor of the cave, what looks like a man in pale green stands with bend head – a man that could easily be me at this point in time.

Going to ground doesn’t mean a descent into depression though that is what had often happened to me in the past. Now, going to ground is more about a descent into the unconscious, sitting still and letting what light does enter from above begin to allow shadows to become visible at the edges of sight. There is a definite awareness of the light, even when entering into a dark chamber where light is totally absent. Because I made the journey into the dark, I know that there is a way back, a way up into the light. The time spent in this darkness is healing, meditative, not that much different from a meditative moment with my eyes closed in a darkened room.

If anything, going underground is life affirming with the similar intention of the Mayans who saw going underground as a way to preserve life, preserve a culture, and preserve hope.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 11, 2011 at 6:16 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just a note to let you know how much I value your blog. I stumbled on it a few months ago and have been steadily following it since. I appreciate the careful thought you put into each entry, the honest reflections, the Jungian insights… more than once your words have been exactly what I needed for my day.

    Lee

    November 12, 2011 at 6:59 am

    • Lee, I appreciate your taking time to add a comment here, especially one that lets me know that my words resonate and have value for others. I do hope that you will return again and again with words to share here with me. 🙂

      rgl

      November 15, 2011 at 6:41 pm


Leave a Reply

