Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The View From the Outside Looking In

with 2 comments

Underwater in MoalBoal, Cebu Island, Philippines

I am sitting on my balcony in a little beach resort in MoalBoal, Philippines. The word resort is a loose term for this small set of accommodations along Big Sand beach. I had visions of an isolated set of cottages along a mostly deserted beach, an expectation that faded quickly with the first look at the site and then taking a short walk along the beach. Needless to say I was both disappointed and angry when I realised what the reality of this place was. In a way, I was almost expecting to be let down. I spent the night before flying out in Shanghai at the airport hotel that is located between the two terminals. My room number at the hotel – 6661. My first thought, the 666 was the sign of the devil. Of course, I immediately took that to mean that my unconscious was about to bust out of its container and make life miserable for me, leaving a trail of wreckage which I would then have to clean up.

It was at this point that I realised that I was hearing echoes of my own stuff, my own shadows rather than receiving messages in code from the devil. It all comes down to a point of view such as in this photograph. I took this photo because of the colour and because I saw the ripples in the water and the bubbles of air. The shell under the water appears to be distorted as if some crazed artist was trying to capture one of his nightmares, trying to capture the devil’s world. The underwater world is a different world when seen from above the water, a crazed out of tilt world. But, it really isn’t what it appears like. Going beneath the surface, safely beneath the surface, one sees that the tilt disappears as do the distortions.

The key is to make sure one goes under the water safely knowing that one is a creature that belongs on the other side of the water’s surface.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 12, 2011 at 4:28 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Robert,
    I am sorry to read about your disappointment.
    A disappointment always makes me wonder, with the question Why ?
    Not a Why of, Why me ! – as is commonly used – but a Why that goes far beyond that.
    And this particular Why most of the times supplies me with an answer that makes me come to peace.
    This said :
    When the water closes above your head and you are shut off from the sounds of the outer world – and then you become aware of the silence, or when there are rocks around you can experience the talk of the ocean with the rocks – by others.
    Sometimes one also can experience the safeness of the “watery” womb again.
    This Peace and Harmony is my wish for you.

    Opa Bear

    November 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    • I have learned to sit with the questions, especially the “why” questions, and let time give me its own answers in its own good time. There must be and ebb and flow or else life has ceased – flat-lined as they call it in medical terminology. Thanks for your words.

      rgl

      November 15, 2011 at 6:43 pm


Leave a Reply

