Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

How Do I Get There From Here?

with 8 comments

How do I get there from here?

How do I get there from here? Unlike this bird who simply has to fly to get there, most of us find ways to say it it next to impossible to do.  In jest we often say, “you can’t get there from here!”  Yet, the jest is more about what we believe than it is about humour.  We do limit ourselves.

Each of us has a built-in voice that often tells us we can’t do this or that or the other thing when in truth we can do all of these things and more. What limits us is a narrowed vision of our capabilities in the physical and psychological sense. Rather than face a potential failure, we simply set our “bar” lower.  We somehow buy into the idea that if we don’t try something we can’t fail at it.  “I really didn’t want to . . . ” is how we rationalize not even trying. It is all about fear.

We also have the collective voice telling us what our limits are, what we can’t and shouldn’t do. We believed the authority of our parents who set our first protective limits and continue to believe that society, like our parents is motivated by concern for us in setting limits. The modern western world has as a foundation belief that humans are essentially incapable of standing upright on their own without the guidance of a church or a government or a corporation or a special interest group. Individuals are weak beings. Left to our own devices we would quickly self destruct.

So why have I switched “tone” in this post? First, I wanted to look, perhaps more objectively about self-defeating behaviours and beliefs so as to put a framework around what I am doing to sabotage my own efforts of becoming a more conscious being. In the process I am seeing that the barriers are imaginal. There may be societal barriers, but even those barriers are constantly shifting and look differently in different cultures. What is not possible or even forbidden in one culture is “normal” in a different culture. Right or wrong then becomes a limiting script for the most part, not an objective statement of reality.

Knowing this, I am forced to look at myself and question myself when I say “I can’t get there from here.”

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 22, 2011 at 5:46 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes dear Robert,

    Listening to our build-in voice, and…ACT with the Force of the Inner URGE.
    I wonder if this is a part of our original Instincts.

    To my experience I only learn by acting – but in order to act, in most of the cases, I have to fight with one of the faces of my fear.

    But when my acting is completed I learned that I have gained two things.
    One is, that I gained experience, and,
    Two, it seems that I am able to transform a little bit of the face of fear that was connected to this action.
    Because I am human, I am aware, that in many cases, for some reasons I fail(ed) to act and I didn’t/don’t gain(ed) the two folded experience.

    But I am aware that the question whether to act or not to act is embedded IN me till my last breaths – so I keep in mind and try to be aware, that one is never too old to learn.

    Opa Bear

    November 22, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    • Acting is crucial, I agree. But not acting in haste. Jung was wise to tell us to hold the tension so that THE way to act will present itself to us as an unexpected choice. I hope to keep learning as I age. Perhaps at some point I might be able to say that I know at least a few answers.

      rgl

      November 23, 2011 at 10:06 am

  2. It’s uncanny to see the parallel between your blog posts and my own life events/decisions. Again today, your thoughts are helping my day along. Thanks for the honest, thoughtful reflections.

    Lee

    November 23, 2011 at 2:10 am

    • Thank you, Lee for taking time here to let me know that my words are useful.

      rgl

      November 23, 2011 at 10:09 am

  3. Robert,
    Take a look at this, IMO he is speaking(without knowing it) about individuation and spirituality: http://youtu.be/1Hapq5fBIgI

    First we must know who we are. Then, and only then, can begin the journey.

    John Feric

    November 23, 2011 at 6:38 am

    • Yes, this is all about individuation. Good questions to always ask: “Why are you here? Why are you doing this? What do you want from this?” Thanks for the link 🙂

      rgl

      November 23, 2011 at 10:26 am

  4. While reading your blog today, a song popped into my head… Thought I’d share the chorus…

    Love you Papa!

    Walk on faith
    Trust in love
    Just keep on putting one foot down
    In front the other
    When the valley so wide
    We stumble in stride
    And everything inside wants to give up
    Walk on faith
    trust in love- Mike Reid

    Noelle

    November 23, 2011 at 9:12 am

    • Thank you, my princess. As you know, this is a song that both Mom and I love. Walking with faith in love is what has got us this far and what we will cling to as we walk on further into life. Love you, too, Noelle.

      rgl

      November 23, 2011 at 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

