Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Today I’m Going To Try And Change The World

with 4 comments

Finding a need to change the world

I had an interesting day with my students at the Chinese university in which I work, today. The topic was about “changing the world.” It’s a lesson I have used once before a few years ago. This time around I tried a few different things, not because the lesson didn’t work before, but because I find it difficult to repeat the same lesson as each class is different and I am different with each class in response.

One of the things I do repeat with this lesson is the use of a song by Johnny Reid called, Today I’m Gonna Try And Change The World.  As far a song goes for my Chinese students, the voice and the music would not inspire much of a positive response. That said, it all comes down to context. In response to a number of questions the consensus was that one can change oneself and that change will result in changes to the world (they do know about the butterfly effect). In my next post I will want to share some of their ideas about what they think is important to change about themselves in order to make a positive change to the world.

As I taught, I ending up thinking about my own beliefs about how I change the world. It became obvious to me that I can’t help but change the world regardless of what I do or don’t do. I effect change simply by being in the world. Should I choose to cease being in the world, that effects even more change. Should I decide to not make a decision and just let others or life make a decision for me, that also changes the world. That is a powerful realisation to make. I find myself forced to claim my own power and drop the notion that I am often the victim of the power of others.

Is this flower (another hibiscus) behind bars so sot speak, imprisoned? Well, I guess it depends on how one looks at it. One could see the flower on the opposite side, a symbol of freedom to someone on this side. Or, it could be simply a flower and a fence that marks property, a fence that is a boundary, not a barricade. Changing the world is about changing how one sees the world and takes ownership for all the things one does and doesn’t do.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I recently came across another way of putting it:

    “It is a mathematical fact that the casting of this pebble from my hand alters the centre of gravity of the universe.”

    — Thomas Carlyle

    Syzygy Xanadu

    November 29, 2011 at 11:25 pm

  2. I once heard the Dalai say the most important thing you can give to the world is the most healthy and wholesome You you can be.

    Urspo

    November 30, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    • Wise words and something that is doable with a will to make it happen.

      rgl

      December 4, 2011 at 11:54 am


Leave a Reply

