Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Digging For Treasure In Water

with 6 comments

Banded Sea Snake in the Philippines

I met this little guy while walking in the waters just of Cebu Island in the Philippines. I didn’t realise it then, but apparently this snake is very, very poisonous. Of course, poisonous or not, I don’t usually mess with snakes and give them their space. That said, it doesn’t mean that I run from them either. Rather, I do hang around hoping for a decent photo opportunity.  In this instance, it took a few extra minutes of waiting for him to appear from hiding so that I could get a good number of images, hoping that one would eventually make its way here.

The Empress - Jungian Tarot

As I wandered through a number of published items about sea snakes, I came across a particular card in the Jungian Tarot series, that of the Empress. This is what PasteBoard Masquerade had to say about the card:

“The Empress represents the archetype of The Mother (shown above, third from left). The lake behind her alludes to her previous stage of virginity, while the cup she holds symbolizes the female generative organ. The sea-snake behind her represents the potentially destructive aspects of the Mother archetype. This shadow side is balanced by the dove of Venus at her feet. Other Major Arcana cards show additional aspects of the Mother, such as Justicethe Mother as Discipline, and Deaththe Mother as Gateway.:

Interestingly, the Mother has found its way into this blog site quite a lot in recent posts. Remember, I chose this photo before knowing what I was going to say about it, or before I did any information search to guide me with the writing with prompts and hints. Next, I notice the cup in her hands – in this context, cup is also symbolic of the sign, Cancer:

” The suits are then assigned a corresponding Cardinal sign, matching Wands with Aries, Cups with Cancer, Swords with Libra, and Pentacles with Capricorn.”

In this image, there is one cup and that is symbolic of Pluto in Cancer – honestly, I have no idea what this means, even after doing a lot of reading on the topic over the past few hours since I began writing this blog post (Yes, sometimes I spend hours on a post.). I do get a sense of unrest, of tension.  But, that said, I will wait for a reader to let me know more about this.

But back to the post, the appearance of Cancer, the great Mother in one card and the snake in water in the photo, and all of this pointing to archetype and the unconscious suggests that I have struck a gold mine. Now, all I have to do is to find a way to uncover the treasures in this gold mine.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for this Post.
    I am happy for you that you experienced to struck Gold.
    Alas, I am not one of your readers who is able to help you – because I think that this gift what you received is solely appointed for you and therefore the riddle can only be solved and experienced by you – but maybe I am wrong.

    I hope that you are able to open the door of this Goldmine and succeed in your search.

    Opa Bear

    December 17, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    • Only time will tell. Of course when one goes mining for gold there is a lot of rubbish, and a significant amount of danger involved in the mining. You are right in the fact that only I can be he miner in this quest for personal gold, for personal transformation from gross to gold.

      rgl

      December 22, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  2. I am not familiar with this tarot deck – and it seems a ‘no brainer’ one for me to get. I am keen to see the other cards.

    Urspo

    December 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    • If you find it, I implore you to buy a second deck for me and then serve as my teacher in the art of reading the cards of tarot.

      rgl

      December 22, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  3. I’m curious Robert, do you have Sun in Cancer? As you say you have been posting a lot on the topic of Mother and the appearance of the Snake and Pluto in your post are suggestive of deep transformation as well as hidden treasure. Pluto is now transiting in Capricorn, the opposite sign to Cancer and I’m wondering whether it is coming to oppose your Sun.

    Miranda Forrester

    December 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    • Miranda – I honestly know almost next to nothing about myself in astrological terms. I was born July 22, 1949 in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada at approximately 7:00 am. Perhaps you can answer this question for me. 🙂

      rgl

      December 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm


Leave a Reply

