Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Letting Go and Seeing What Emerges

leave a comment »

Surreal Sunset

This is really how it looked! Well, the truth is I couldn’t quite capture the mauve and deeper purple that were also present in the sky over the Gulf of Thailand. Unlike my entrances into other countries, my entrance into Thailand is with a camera that is fairly quiet for the most part. Rather than journeying out to “see” the world out there, I am learning how to just be still for the most part. Of course, being still isn’t a physical stillness as I am still going for long walks and learning the neighbourhood so that I become more grounded in place through familiarity. Rather, being still means that I am taking the time to suspend my constant need to control every moment of every day, to make those moments accountable in either photographic results or writing results.

Needless to say, I walk with camera in hand as I have not turned off my eye and do not want to miss something that speaks to me in a numinous manner. Yet, I have forgone those photos that are more journalistic, more about commentary. This is a time for letting go and seeing what emerges.

 

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 11, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

