Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Alchemy – Trusting in the Process of Transformation

with 4 comments

Gulf of Thailand sunset

Another scene of the sunset taken on the first evening in Pattaya is one that is all about alchemy for me, a fitting image for this is my task in Thailand – transformational change. Of course in making such a claim I want to qualify this with a bit of reality and caution. Transformational change isn’t all about some mystical and spiritual transformation from ordinary person into some sort of Buddha or Christ-figure or anything even remotely approaching some world-changing being. Rather, for me it is about little things.

Each time I dive into the unconscious, usually as a somewhat unwilling participant, doubtful and dubious of what is going to happen, I seem to suffer with the exposure of some inner darkness I wish didn’t exist, an inner darkness that I hope is nothing but a figment of my imagination – “Did that really happen, or am I making it up?’ sort of darkness coming to light.  Once exposed to the light I have a few choices; well, not really. I can own up to the facts, the moods, the events, the shit exposed and do it without laying blame, refusing to take the role of victim; or, I can deny, deny, deny; or, I can justifiably lay blame and become a victim thus relieving myself of any personal responsibility for becoming a better person, for healing myself.

For me, it is all about owning the shit – it happened, I was there, I am now here. I need to acknowledge the shit that happened to me, the shit I received, the shit that I caused. I need to release its power over me. And the only way to do this is to expose it to the light of logos, to allow the sun to remove the cancerous cells and leave me lighter in both spirit and in dead weight.

Thailand is my fiery furnace where I am risking the exposure of darkness, risking sanity and relationship. What will emerge? I don’t know and in the end it doesn’t matter. For this is about process for now. And I have learned to trust the process.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, you describe it so well . . . that tricky part about not “justifiably laying blame” — either on others or on myself. Sitting in the pain of “owning the shit” until I’m able to let it go. Sigh. Your last few blog entries so accurately describe my current task. I’ve gone the victim route before and don’t want to do it again.

    Lee

    January 13, 2012 at 3:06 am

    • Lee, I am honoured that you bring your words and your concern here. If you need to talk more, just e-mail if you would rather that than post here. Thanks for trusting to speak here.

      rgl

      January 14, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  2. Thanks. I’ve been looking through your blog site for an email address, but not able to find one (?)

    Lee

    January 21, 2012 at 8:29 am


Leave a Reply

