Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Healing Work of Depth Psychology

with 2 comments

The bigger picture

Yesterday I posted a photo which was similar to this photo. The difference is that today’s photo puts yesterday’s photo in context. A day older, I find myself shifting my focus away from the darkness to the light, to the golden light. In the darkness of yesterday, there was a reflection of that golden light, a reflection that taught me to look “up” from the depths and to follow my eyes up from the depths to find a place somewhere between the light and the darkness.  And so, today, I am finding that I can be here with you from this middle ground.

The voice one uses from the depths is different from the voice from the middle ground and the heights. I have to realise that I am a human that needs to live in a world in the middle. If I fly to high into the light, I will suffer like Icarius. If I fly too low I will enter into an equally dangerous place.

As I am getting older, I am getting a bit more impatient. I want to know too much, to find too many answers in too much of a hurry. My psyche tells me to slow down and allow it all to work out in its own time, to stop “forcing” the issue. But that same psyche doesn’t tell me what is slow enough. It becomes my work to monitor with a small part of my brain and body, what is happening, to make that call of “too much” and “too fast” for me. And I listen to that small part of my body and mind.

So today, I find myself sitting peacefully on my balcony after a morning of sunning and swimming and letting go of the darkness that has engulfed me. I chose the descent and I now choose this time of surfacing. I will be diving again when it is time. This is just the way it is as I take a month in Thailand for the healing work of depth psychology.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy you can take a month. So wish I could. In the meantime I struggle with the same dilemma…in the midst of it all. Interested in your combining photography and depth psychology, a passion of mine as well. I want to see more!

    Joann

    January 23, 2012 at 4:00 am

    • Hi Joann and welcome. There is a lot here to see and more coming sometime too often. If that isn’t enough, my alter site SkyClad Therapy provides more – not as gentle, more cthonic/raw. I like your site as well.

      rgl

      January 27, 2012 at 9:31 am


Leave a Reply

