Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Broken Road is the Straightest Road

with 7 comments

A light and a tree at the end of the tunnel

As I enter the compound in which I have rented a condo here in Thailand, I must walk down a long hallway to reach this opening where a set of stairs will take me to the third floor condo I call home for another three weeks. Today is the seventh day here in Thailand. Most of those days have been filled with cloud cover, a weather pattern that is conducive for my spending time at the keyboard writing what needs to be written. When the sun does poke out, I make my way to the pool side to lay in the sun while listening to music, as the seaside beach is crowded with lounge chairs and umbrellas all the way to the water’s edge. Walking along the beach is more about dodging traffic than letting surf and sand soothe the soul. With the beach basically uninteresting in terms of meditative and holistic presence, the condo pool is a better choice, especially as there are few people using the pool or the perimeter around the pool.

Now, back to the image which more about my process than it is about making a record of another place visited. I imagine that I am in the shadow world and that held up before me is the destination, a place called life which is symbolised by the tree standing in both shade and sunshine. The light falling on the tree is the light of consciousness, awareness. It is as though I have dared to swallow the forbidden fruit from the tree of consciousness and have been tossed into the depths of darkness in order to make my way back into the light. This journey toward light is my heroic quest, different but yet the same as Odysseus’ quest. It is the universal human quest of the everyman, Adam and everywoman, Eve as they journey back to their Garden of Eden to a reunion with the wholeness and source of life.

The path forward may look straight but there are so many doors not seen, many forks in the road that seem to jump out and demand attention. Life is filled with these forks in the road, all of these doors waiting to be taken, must be taken if one is to arrive conscious. As I wrote these last words I was reminded of a song called God Bless the Broken Road, a song sung by Rascal Flatts. And with that, I leave you for today. Check out the song and see what I mean.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 15, 2012 at 1:37 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My life as a CW song, I will see your Rascal Flats and raise a Garth Brooks:

    “And now I’m glad I didn’t know The way it all would end the way it all would go Our lives are better left to chance I could have missed the pain But I’d of had to miss the dance Yes my life is better left to chance I could have missed the pain but I’d of had to miss the dance.”

    View video at:

    John Ferric

    January 16, 2012 at 12:05 am

  2. Sorry the link to the video did work, above, here it is again:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3674595221543443747

    John Ferric

    January 16, 2012 at 1:12 am

  3. In my studies I don’t know “WHY” the road has to be crocked, why the Dark Night must happen before the dawn. Do you know any references to the necessity of this?

    Urspo

    January 16, 2012 at 2:03 am

  4. Without the choices those doors and forks offer us, do we really live? Each bend, each fork challenges us to make a choice about ourselves and our life and those challenges create our understanding.

    Interesting too when we do spirit work that many guided meditations talk us through walking down a corridor with bends and finally opening out into a garden. In this garden we ask the questions we need answers for.

    LotusEater

    January 21, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    • Interesting point about guided meditations. I have used these with many of my clients in the past but didn’t make the connection in terms of the question. Thanks, Lotus.

      rgl

      January 27, 2012 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

