Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Searching For Clarity

with 5 comments

When there is no clarity, even in the light

Another photo with not much to add today. I am deeply engrossed in the “work” as it is called. I do have one interesting article that I think might be of interest to my readers: The Psychological Impact of Sexual Abuse, by David Lysak. On another note, one of my good friends and participants here, John Ferric, tells me:

 I am attempting to provide a venue:  http://jung2.org/JungRedux/ for people to read Jung and discuss what they read.

John goes on to explain that participants  “will need to register, then I will activate their account.  I am using “Man and His Symbols,” generally and Jung’s section “Approaching the Unconscious” specifically in this first experimental attempt.”

I encourage my readers to take advantage of this opportunity to talk together in a discussion forum that promises to be a place of value.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 20, 2012 at 1:24 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The topic and treatment of sexual abuse has done quite a turn around in the past decade. It has done a 180; it used to be all about ‘getting back there’ and working through it. Now it seems to be geared towards ‘get over it/don’t keep going back there”. ALas, I have not seen good success with either.
    Why some ‘get over it’ and others have it haunt them the rest of your life is still a mystery. In my opinion; when too much negative Child (who wants explanations and puerile justice) combines with Victim thwarts the Ego/Self axis from moving on.
    But this is not my area of expertise; so I am intrigued to hear from others on this topic.

    Urspo

    January 21, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    • From what I can understand, intuit, the process is not to work with the sexual abuse itself, but to treat as if PTSD and then do the hard work of following the energies and blockages to locate complexes and moderate those complexes by becoming aware of them and how they get activated. It is a sort of re-evaluation of self based on a deeper awareness of the self. Can’t deny the abuse, remove the abuse, or mask the abuse – all that is left is to understand and allow the self to be in the world “better” through an increase of self-consciousness.

      rgl

      January 27, 2012 at 9:26 am

  2. Urspo,
    I don’t know how well this addresses your concern, or if it even does, but here goes. Based on personal experience and with men doing Men’s Work there are, at least, two aspects of sexual abuse. One is the abuse itself. The second, not often or perhaps even addressed, is one of shame. This shame is based on not being able to defend oneself, of a message like: “This dreadful thing happened to me, and could not do one thing about it, except suffer through it.” There must be something wrong with me because I could not prevent it.

    John Ferric

    January 21, 2012 at 11:56 pm

  3. Dear Robert,
    Did you received 1-19 from 39 ?

    Opa Bear

    January 22, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • Received, noted and appreciated. 🙂

      rgl

      January 27, 2012 at 9:27 am


Leave a Reply

