Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Rescuing Joy For the Inner Child

with 6 comments

The joy of being young and alive

Sometimes there are scenes that emerge that didn’t exist prior to my raising my camera to my eyes. I saw this young boy at a road construction site only metres from large equipment in use with big holes and deep water too close by. I had been taking photos of men riding a bucket into some of these holes in order to rescue equipment and of family members watching on the sidelines, some of them holding babies, when I thought, ‘Why not?’ and took this single photo of the boy. With the photo taken his joy was soon shared by the adults including what I would assume was his mother (in the background with the baby) who smiled and nodded as though I had done something special in taking the photo.

I guess it all has to do with having someone actually see and recognize you. I think back again to Martin Buber’s book, I and Thou, and know that the eye to eye recognition is one soul resonating with another soul and knowing that this is enough, a feeding of the soul.

This boy also touched something else with me, my own little inner boy. I see in his smile, his trust, and openness, the hidden child within me who has to learn to smile, trust and be freed. Some of the most important things are the simplest things.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 31, 2012 at 10:17 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for sharing this Post with us – this is truly WISDOM !
    And it amazes me that after all that you have experienced in life so far you are able to write this post – and then I realize that you only are able to write this Post “because” of your experiences in life.
    You were/are able to keep your little Boy alive !!

    Opa Bear

    January 31, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    • And little girl (anima – soul’s hope) – that’s what it takes, my dear friend – keeping the children within and without alive and well.

      rgl

      February 3, 2012 at 2:20 pm

  2. Dear Robert,
    When I viewed your photo of the child smiling, almost immediately out of the corner of my eye I saw the photo of you smiling to the right. I was moved in an indescribeable way. How serendipitious!

    patricia

    February 1, 2012 at 2:14 am

    • Yes, you did see me smiling and telling this little boy that he was precious to the world, to his family and to me, a complete stranger. Thanks for taking the time to comment. 🙂

      rgl

      February 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  3. Fascinating post you have written in this Rescuing Joy For the Inner Child at Through a Jungian Lens. Thank you.

    Clinical Psychologist

    February 4, 2012 at 9:12 am

    • I look forward to your return with contributions via comments in the future. Your eZine looks interesting.

      rgl

      February 4, 2012 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

