Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Home Away From Home

with 2 comments

A home away from home

I passed by this place a few times while walking in the Jomtien district of Pattaya, Thailand. At first I thought it might be another one of those little side motorcycle kitchens that are set up within a few minutes where someone would sell various kinds of quick meals, a common site in the area. But, on closer inspection, it was obvious that it served as a rest space with the red object serving as a bed or as a table. I had seen quite a few different “quick homes” in the area, in small tents, in large drain pipes and on the fringes of jungle areas such as this.

As my readers are aware, I am returning to my home, to Canada. For the past six years I have been the occasional visitor, even in my own house in Canada as there were plane flights to catch in Latin America and Asia every year since retiring. It is time to sit still for a while and take care of business so to speak. The running has to stop and it is time to face those things from which I have been running even though I had no conscious idea that I was running from them. What will follow when “balance” has been restored between the conscious and the unconscious? I honestly can say that I don’t know. I will leave all the doors open, all the possibilities open so as to hear better what emerges in the process.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

February 10, 2012 at 9:23 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Home for me is not so much physical, but internal. And wherever I am I can make that internal become external, and this image reminds me of that. Those who live in ‘quick homes’ may not have all the ‘stuff’ we load ourselves with, they most certainly wish for a better place… but at the end of each day, they will come back to that place, lay down the hassles of working, looking for work etc and feel ‘at home’.

    LotusEater

    February 11, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    • Thanks, as always, Lotus for your valuable contributions. 🙂

      rgl

      February 12, 2012 at 12:53 am


Leave a Reply

