Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

I get by with a little help from my friends

with 2 comments

Just the two of us in Thailand

To tell the truth, it wasn’t just the two of us in Thailand. I have to say that with us were family and friends from all parts of the planet. It may have felt at moments as if there were just the two of us, clinging tightly together as the nights and the days got all jumbled together. We are now in China for the last stage before a return to Canada. It will not be an easy five days with packing away a career, a second home and a cultural dynamic we will not see when we return to our first home. It could be easy to say that it was just a job filling in time, but it has been more than that. What comes next? That is not a question that has an answer as of yet. We will let time teach us an answer.

The years in China since retirement in Canada have taught us both so much more about the world and about each other. And, it has taught us so much about friendship as well.

I have discovered new friends, some of whom I have never met face-to-face. And the depth of these friendships amazes me. I have not had many friends in life because of my tendency to hide in the shadows.  I have recently thought of a song by Joe Cocker that speaks to some of what I have learned about friendship:

What would you do if I sang out of tune,
Would you stand up and walk out on me?
Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song
And I’ll try not to sing out of key.

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

What do I do when my love is away
(Does it worry you to be alone?)
How do I feel by the end of the day,
(Are you sad because you’re on your own?)

No, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends

Do you need anybody
I need somebody to love
Could it be anybody
I want somebody to love.

Would you believe in a love at first sight
Yes, I’m certain that it happens all the time
What do you see when you turn out the light
I can’t tell you but I know it’s mine,

I get by with the help of my friends, my family and my love at first sight that has stuck with me now for forty years and more. And with their help, I will continue on getting by.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wishing you both well with the move back to Canada.
    I too am so often amazed by the depth of friendship encountered with many whom I have never met face-to-face.
    May we cherish and nurture these friendships as we are reminded that we all need “a little help from my friends”.

    Linda Hollier

    February 10, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    • Thanks, Linda. It’s time to go home and be helped as much as it is to help others who need my help. There is balance to be maintained.

      rgl

      February 12, 2012 at 12:54 am


Leave a Reply

