Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Journey of a Wounded Healer

with 2 comments

Journey of a Wounded Healer

I am in the process of putting together my poetry from the 1990s and I found this poem which I wrote on December 15th, 1997.  I think it bears sharing at this point with you as it tells both myself and you, my readers, what precedes the fall or crash that leads one to finally reach out for help.

Journey of a Wounded Healer

Sitting in my rocking chair

Surrounded by the darkness of the night

Imagining the horrors that have no name

Tears well for no reason other than as a protest

Sitting in my rocking chair locked in the silence of night

Fearing the horrors that have no name.

Fighting for strength in the light of a new day

Breathing deeply to contain the terror of an unknown future

Eyes strained from sleeplessness and tenseness

Fighting for hope in the promise of the new day

Closing my eyes to contain the terror of an unknown future

The wounded healer’s journey begins.

I published this poem in February, 1998 in a web-zine that was produced in Victoria, B.C. by Ron Nye, along with two other poems. I will be including this poem in the poetry book I am currently working on for publishing later this winter/spring.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

February 25, 2012 at 4:42 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can relate to this one. Sometimes I feel like a wounded healer too! Love, Peta

    • Hi Peta. Finally you made it here without being blocked. 🙂 We are all wounded and when we dare listen to others, hold others and comfort others, we are all healers. ¿cómo está mi amigo?

      rgl

      February 26, 2012 at 7:12 am


Leave a Reply

