Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Conspiracies and Cabals and Consciousness

with 4 comments

In search of consciousness and self in Vietnam

I am overwhelmed with so much at this point.  Having allowed the barriers to fall down, at least a little, has allowed a bit of light to enter. That is good, but it isn’t necessarily very comfortable. In truth, perhaps the lies one tells to oneself is preferable to the truth. I have been dreaming a lot more than usual, something that I expected as I re-entered analysis, but still something that at times seems to be too much. Looking at these dreams points to both dark and light aspects of myself in my relation to the world, to others and to that inner core of my own being.

So, as a diversionary tactic, I have become a bit more present on Twitter where I soon found myself “engaged” and “present” in the drama of individuals begging to bring light into the darkness of Canadian and American politics as well as with issues of child abuse and mental health. It didn’t take me long to realise that this wasn’t a diversionary tactic at all, but about participation with others in a search for truth, objectivity and meaning – again an issue of dark and light; good and evil. Somehow the drama of my dream world, the stuff coming out of analysis and the interactions on Twitter were lining up together as if to make a point, a lesson for me to hear and take note of.

In response I shifted to Facebook which is usually “lighter” filled more with meaningless “status updates” and “he said, she said” kinds of messages. And there I found this YouTube link, Love, Reality and the Time of Transition which had been placed there by one of my Jungian Twitter and Facebook friends, Terre Spencer who is a therapist with an orientation to Jungian psychology as well. The video begins pleasantly enough with John Lennon and the Beatles singing “All you need is love” and then the video moves on to look at the word love and what it really means in a big picture kind of way.  There it was again, more and more and more – all joining together as if in a cabal, a conspiracy to have me open my eyes and finally learn something of value.

And realising that I don’t have all the answers, that I don’t know the truth of everything and that I need to be open to becoming more conscious, more aware and more present – I am humbled and submit to the truth that I need to open up and let the world in rather than build a box around myself in which to hide from that world.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! Good blogpost. My style ~and I suppose both of us have one~ is to be Honest, Open and Willing to change, to evolve and yes ~be naked to the world in our creative expression. Beyond the regimentation of rights and wrongs. Finding our own way, even if at times we need to ‘feel’ our way through dark spaces.

    • Thanks, Peta – we each need to find our own way, a unique path that somehow is entwined in the collective in which we find ourselves. Honesty is what we need – honest with ourselves and then with others. We set ourselves free in that honesty and enable others to be free.

      rgl

      February 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  2. I loved this post. Forgive me if I get this all wrong, it just seems like the subconscious mind is prepping the conscious mind for what is to come. I see the path being prepared a few steps ahead of the journey.

    Tracey

    March 2, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • Hi Tracey, I am so glad that you stepped in with a few words here. You are correct that the unconscious is trying desperately hard to wake me up. The stuff buried very deep uses dreams as a way to talk (sort of) with the conscious self – only problem is that it is not spoken in plain language. That’s why when everything is going to hell, it is a good idea to get help and a good guide. – love from your uncle 🙂

      rgl

      March 2, 2012 at 4:40 pm


Leave a Reply

