Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Self is Numinous

with 2 comments

Meditation, myths and heroes - Angkor Wat

As I was meditating this morning as the sun was rising, a thought crept into my brain. I tried to breath into my body, to focus on each part of each breath in order to gently dissipate the edges of this thought that came creeping. But, it was to no avail. The thought took form and called on me to honour that thought. So, I listened to that still voice that at times decides to grace me, a voice that is so different from the regular chatter that seems to occupy so much of my thinking. The voice suggested that I set aside Hollis’ book for a moment and return to Jung’s words and listen. That was it. With that, silence returned and I fell back into a meditative state.

With meditation done, I had forgotten about the voice and the message for a while as I engaged back with being present in my physical reality and got prepared for the day and making sure that I finished my morning routines. Then, I approached my collection of books on the shelf rather than doing some cyberspace surfing and connecting. I picked up one of my books that looks at Jung’s words on a theme, this particular book looking at what Jung had to say about mythology. Then, I opened the book at random and found these words:

” . . . the hero myth is an unconscious drama seen only in projection, like the happenings in Plato’s parable of the cave. The hero himself appears as a being of more than human stature. He is distinguished from the very beginning by his godlike characteristics. Since he is psychologically an archetype of the self, his divinity only confirms that the self is numinous, a sort of god, or having some share in the divine nature.” (Jung, CW 5, par 612)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for this post.
    I am grateful to read that you were able to receive this message from the Self – but this Gift it is more than a message alone I think, because with this message you are reinsured that the Self is walking close beside you on your journey and support you.
    And in my opinion it makes clear that you are on the right track of your difficult journey.

    Opa Bear

    March 19, 2012 at 4:49 am

    • I get the same feeling, Opa. Thanks for reaffirming my own sense of what is happening here. 🙂

      rgl

      March 24, 2012 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

