Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Process of Emerging Out of Dark Holes

with 2 comments

Rescuing soul and spirit from the detritus of daily living

The process . . .

Yes, the process, the analytical process that I am currently engaged in is taking up much of my time. For those who are not aware, I find myself in analytical sessions three times a week. This is how I am spending my time at this point since my resignation as a university instructor. Added to the process is an engagement in almost any and every Jungian seminar and workshop that dares to surface and make itself known here in Calgary. I am currently engaged in a seminar series that is studying James Hollis’ book, The Eden Project which is focused on magical other and the quest for the holy grail, the return to the Garden of Eden, to the womb of the Great Mother. In ten days I get to take part in a two-day event with Michael Conforti. It sounds busy enough, but I still find myself saying “more, more, faster, faster!”

So, into the container I have added a fairly intensive immersion into Buddhism through reading, reading, meditation, listening and attending a Sangha here in Calgary. My “extra” hours are filled with Trungpa, Chodron, Karthar, the Dali Lama and anyone who crosses my path through the library and the Sangha. The day after the Conforti adventure, I take refuge and accept the precepts; in other words, I am becoming a Buddhist in name as well as in spirit. For those who have been reading here, this probably will come as no surprise as I have often written about concepts and reverberations that come out of Buddhist teachings.

Of course, it isn’t all about Jungian psychology or Buddhism during this “sabattical” from ordinary, daily living and working. I do take time to take photographs, to walk, to cycle, and to play my guitar.  After all, there are a “lot” of hours to fill in a day.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 24, 2012 at 9:05 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. those activities you mention are just as important as the sessions; keep them going.

    Urspo

    April 28, 2012 at 6:34 pm


Leave a Reply

