Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Colours of Spring

with 10 comments

Spring crocus May 2012

I do love spring, especially as I wander with my camera and spot new life emerging from the ground following the warming of the earth which had been frozen in winter. There is something uplifting in spotting these first wildflowers of a new season. They are so fragile yet somehow they survive winters of temperatures that drop to -30 and even -40 Celsius, temperatures that are made even worse by winter winds and the lack of sunshine which mark Canadian prairie winters.

I have specific associations with the colours of the crocus, the mauve and the golden centre, associations that go back to youth and the colours I would see in church services; the purple of lent and the gold of Easter Sunday. I know that there are other colours associated with Easter, but this intellectual knowledge takes second place in contrast to my childhood associations. Spring was about the delicate colours of new birth that arrived each year, colours that often found their way into the colours of clothing worn by the women that seemed to mimic the season. Though Easter has long passed, it is the colours and the appearance of these colours in nature that herald new beginnings and new birth – a rebirth of spirit – that have more significance. Nature tells me the real story, the story of time and place rather than the story of a fixed calendar.

It has been almost three months since I have returned to analysis, to the work of diving deep into the darkness of an inner world in order to reconnect and remember. Now, there seems to be a sense that light is beginning to rekindle external life with a new sense of energy and urgency, an up-welling of libido which demands that I live fully in my body as well as in my head. Yes, there is an urgency in this as the years of my life are racing towards a return to the source of all being.  I am being told, “don’t sit back and wait for a better time for this is the time, now.”

And, I have learned to listen to the guiding voice within, to trust that guiding voice. And so, I begin to move back into the land of external life with more purpose and with dreams that will finally be honoured, dreams that have lain dormant for too many years. This was the inspiration given to me as I wandered the Canadian prairies and found crocuses there to encourage me to be reborn, to be reinvigorated with life.

 

 

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful post Robert on the essence of hope and renewal. Being born on the Northern prairies of the U.S., this brought back memories for me of combing those bountiful prairies in all seasons, but the spring was perhaps my favorite.

    Jeff

    Jeff Howlin

    May 20, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • Thanks for stopping by, Dr. Jeff. I am one of your Twitter followers and enjoy all opportunities to meet. listen to and learn from others such as yourself.

      rgl

      May 21, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  2. as all my life, love looking at your pics Bob. Serena has gotting that desire and reminds me of your talent too. facebook not so bad eh? hugs ty take care…ps. im here

    Wayne L

    May 20, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    • It’s about time I heard from you here. Yes, our niece Serena indeed has talent with the camera, a talent she inherits from her dad as much as from our Longpré genetic stock. Yes, Facebook is a great way for family to stay connected. More later. 🙂

      rgl

      May 20, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  3. I associate crocus with the herald of spring and all it symbolizes and entails.

    Urspo

    May 20, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    • Spring comes a lot later near the Rocky Mountains in Alberta. Spring’s arrival is not marked on a calendar, but in the scenes of Mother Nature. Thanks, Dr. Urspo.

      rgl

      May 21, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  4. Erm…I’m Serena…lol..I’m usually too busy to write as well with work, photography, gardening, the kids around…ooop…here they come…anyways, always love your blogs…I need to do one one day 🙂 Hugs!

    Serena Leblond

    May 21, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    • Hi Serena. I am very pleased and excited to see another family member find these pages. 🙂 It has been too long since we visited on the Island and got to see you, your sister and your Mom and Dad. I love your work as a photographer. You have excelled as an artist. How is your Mom doing? I think of her often. love from your Uncle Bob.

      rgl

      May 21, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  5. I studied Jung for 55 years. first his radio broadcasts
    Then the television program ‘ Face to face’ The the follow up book ‘Man and his Symbols,then every book I could find of his to read,
    I have lived him ever since ,
    Very enlightening ,a great mind,

    kenneth holmes

    May 26, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    • Kenneth, welcome to this blog site. I am sorry to have take so long to respond, but that is the way of things for me at this time. That said, I look forward to learning from you, from your wealth of knowledge and your passion. Thank you for bringing your voice here.

      rgl

      June 5, 2012 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

