Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

On Being Present – Just Being Present

with 4 comments

It is what it is

I have been struggling lately with energy and as a result have found myself doing very little productive; if anything, I have been wasting my time. Take today as an example. I slept in long past my usual 6:00 AM wake-up. During the night I did have dreams and woke for a moment but refused to record the dream, being obstinate. Yes, I can be a very stubborn person. Once up, I went through some of my usual routine including taking time for meditation. But it didn’t take long for the resistances to be rekindled and I skipped making my morning coffee and checking my e-mail. I did finally, at 11:00 AM decide to eat a bowl of cereal with fruit for breakfast followed by a short chat with my son using GoogleTalk. Then, I slipped back into doing nothing again.

It took until almost 1:30 PM before I got my butt in gear and decided to go out of the suite and engage with the world, a world that is coated with gray skies that leaked without much enthusiasm of their own. I had a chore to take care of and a small desire to check out some books at a Chapters store in a shopping mall. While in the store I found a few books I had been in search of and took them to the Starbucks coffeehouse that is found in most Chapters stores. I bought a plain coffee and a scone and settled in to check out the handful of books so as to decide which ones to buy and which ones to keep.  And somewhere along the way, I woke up.

It was a neat thing, to wake up sitting in a coffeehouse while in front of a cup of coffee and a handful of books with my laptop opened.  What surprised me is my response to this event of waking up. I somehow avoided getting angry with myself for wasting time. I realised that I was just being and that I am now just being. No one moment of being is better than a different moment of being. This is what it means to me to accept the shadow as much as the light. When I get angry with myself, I am berating myself for being myself, thinking that I should be better: more fit, more alive, more productive, more super human, more spiritual. But the truth is, I simply need to be.

 

Written by Robert G. Longpré

June 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good post, Robert. Been there, done that – so many times. Struggling, grasping at being something ‘else’, when I can really only be who I am at this moment … learning to accept that.

    Paul

    June 24, 2012 at 6:00 am

    • Thank you, Paul, for your comment. It is good to hear from you and others as it lets me know that others are indeed reading and getting some value from my thoughts written down here. I hope to hear more from you. 🙂

      rgl

      June 24, 2012 at 6:03 am

  2. I like that, Robert…to just be…without expectation or demands or disappointments…to just be. Thank you. 🙂

    seekraz

    June 28, 2012 at 8:19 am


Leave a Reply

