Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Breathing In Sunshine

leave a comment »

Not built to stand the test f time. Strathmore, Alberta 2012

As I was driving from Calgary to my home in Saskatchewan, I stopped by this building I had passed a number of times. I had thought of photographing this place a number of times but was either in a hurry or it was raining when I passed. In spite of very strong winds which were gusting between 50 and 110 kilometres per hour, it was sunny so I stopped. I decided that it would never be the perfect time and that every time was the perfect time.

In this particular photo, I used the abandoned ruin of an old farm house as a contrast to the scene that unfolded behind it on the Canadian prairie. Water, grasses, fields and an immense sky helps to place the abandoned farm house in context, helping me to have a sense of smallness in the expanse of prairie. I could almost feel how the original settlers must have felt in building this shelter in an empty land where winds blow incessantly, a land of extremes: drought, rain, storm, heat, cold and space.

Today’s post is going to remain short as I have spent most of the day outside in a part of the Canadian prairie where cactus and hills remain much as they have been for thousands of years. The time spent outdoors has left me pleasantly tired and blank when it comes to intellectual activity.  Today it was enough just to be breathing in the sunshine. Of course I took my camera with me.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

June 28, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

