Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

A Spiritual Path is a Healing Path

with 4 comments

Mr. Coyote checking out the village of Dead Man’s Flats near Canmore in the Canadian Rocky Mountains

As I drove towards Canmore on Sunday for my Grassi Lakes hike, I stopped at Dead Man’s Flats in honour of the many other times I had stopped there while taking my children to visit family on Canada’s west coast. It became a tradition of sorts. I stopped because I saw the moon in the morning sky above one of the mountains and thought that this would be an excellent opportunity to capture that photo. Of course, once I was out of the car I began to wander and be present with where I was. I followed my ears as they lead me to Pigeon Creek. Once at the creek I was surprised by beautiful wild flowers. The time out had worked wonders for me and I was ready to head back to the car and complete the drive to Canmore. But, before I reached the car on my way back to the village, I saw this coyote who was calmly making his way into the edge of the hamlet. And in that moment, a bit more of my spirit was healed.

Almost everyone who undertakes  a true spiritual path will discover that a profound personal healing is a necessary part of his or her spiritual process. When this need is acknowledged, spiritual practice can be directed to bring such healing to body, heart, and mind. This is not a new notion. Since ancient times, spiritual practice has been described as a process of healing. The Buddha and Jesus were both known as healers of the body, as well as great physicians of the spirit.” (Kornfield, A Path With Heart, p. 40)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with the quote; but it is a bit deceiving viz. so many think the healing process is nice and comfy, when it is inevitably painful and scary too.

    Urspo

    July 10, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    • Painful, scary and unsettling as well. But, when all is said and done, it is worth every fright and pain.

      rgl

      July 19, 2012 at 7:55 pm

  2. Dear Robert,
    What a great Post, full of symbols and synchronicity !
    We are so happy that you experienced the healing force by the Numinous – a wonderful gift and blessing !

    Opa Bear

    July 11, 2012 at 3:08 am

    • Many thanks, Opa. I appreciate all of your words of encouragement.

      rgl

      July 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm


Leave a Reply

