Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Leaving on a Jet Plane

with 6 comments

The moon under water

Yesterday I spoke about an inner and an outer journey and how one’s journey becomes an event that has an effect on all those who surround us, either directly or indirectly. Today, I want to focus on self. The outer journey begins as my plane takes off at 1:05 pm Central Standard Time, from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. Some hours later I transfer in Toronto, Ontario, Canada en route to Paris, France. Just thinking of taking leave of my wife at the airport already brings tears to my eyes. A song is going through my head, Leaving on a Jet Planeas sung by John Denver, a song that I have played on my guitar countless times. Each time I have sung this song, it has moistened my eyes and built up pressure within my chest, each time somehow intuitively aware that this was also my song to my wife in some future time. Today is that time. Today, I am leaving on a jet plane.

My journey is taking me deep into my own unconscious, deep into an unknown country of silences, shadows and ruins, a place where I will be battling ghosts and dragons that are unique to my psyche. Yet, because they are found in my unconscious, they are not so unique in the collective sense. I will be bumping into the ghosts and dragons of my father and mother and others. Slaying these ghosts and dragons is probably not the right way to explain what will happen, perhaps it would be better to say that I will be embracing these ghosts and monsters with forgiveness and compassion so that they can achieve peace in order for me to also achieve peace.

I fly into the sky in order to plant my feet on the path of pilgrimage. I fly into the inner world as if to the moon underwater in order to plant my spirit and soul on their pilgrimage. Bon Chemin, Buen Camino.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

August 29, 2012 at 6:19 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Safe travel and return home. Love you lots and miss you more.

    me

    August 29, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    • 🙂 I am beyond words. Your love is treasured and serves as a beacon for me to return. Each step I walk is one step closer to coming home, coming home to you.

      rgl

      September 18, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  2. Indeed; may your Journey be something marvelous.

    Urspo

    August 31, 2012 at 10:48 pm

  3. I wonder how you are doing.

    Urspo

    September 14, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    • Tired, sore and very sore. Aside from the physical pain, I am breathing so much easier. Penance has been done and forgiveness has been given. I am now at peace with my self. Thanks for asking my good friend.

      rgl

      September 18, 2012 at 6:30 pm


Leave a Reply

