Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Being In The Right Place At The Right Time – Every Time

with 2 comments

Adult elk wandering on the edge of the Bow River on the outskirts of Canmore, Alberta – October 2012

Another day and another hike in the Canmore area was rewarded with another sighting of elk. I wasn’t able to get as close as I wanted as the river stood between us. I continue to be amazed at how lucky I am to see so many wild animals in so many places. I just happen to be in the right place at the right time, each time. Thinking more about this idea of being in the right place at the right time, I began to think again of my time along the Grande Randonnée 65 in southern France. And, these thoughts turned to the morning I woke in Le Puy en Velay, in the pre-dawn darkness before it was time to head to the Cathedral for the Pilgrim’s Blessing by the Bishop of Le Puy:

~   ~   ~   ~

I lay there in the dark knowing I couldn’t fall back asleep no matter how hard I tried. It was a perfect time to meditate. It’s strange how meditation became such an important part of my life. Of course there are all the benefits for the body, but it was the benefit to my inner self that drew me to meditation and held me there. It was one of the few times that I achieved anything that resembled being at peace with myself and the world. The outer world was more about chaos for me than it was about peace. At this point in my life, I didn’t know how to handle the unknown, the chaos and the uncertainty of anything and everything. Meditation helped me achieve some needed balance and it was teaching me the skills I needed to mentally survive in the chaos of my life.

“Life is a good teacher and a good friend. Things are always in transition, if we could only realize it. Nothing ever sums itself up in the way that we like to dream about. The off-center, in-between state is an ideal situation, a situation in which we don’t get caught and we can open our hearts and minds beyond limit.”

Wise words from Pema Chödrön; but for me, life hasn’t been much of a friend. I know that life is life, neither good nor bad, but still my mind remembers so much that I felt as “bad” as a youth. I still get caught off-centre and off-guard as the scenes replay themselves in my mind over and over again. As I continue meditating, I return again to these words and begin to allow the contrasting negative thoughts break apart and dissipate.

“Sticking with that uncertainty, getting the knack of relaxing in the midst of chaos, learning not to panic–this is the spiritual path.” (p. 10)

Eventually I stop thinking and I begin to relax with a shift of focus back to my breath.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Friend,
    Thank you for this Post.
    Your words “being in the right place at the right time – every time” served as true and deep sense for me.
    If I may, I think that I can use it as a Mantra – when I am conscious !! That is when I am able to stick my head out of the stream that drags me on in our hectic modern world.
    My second thought could/would then be – why – what is the meaning of my position at this time – what is this moment trying to tell me ?

    Opa Bear

    October 18, 2012 at 4:40 am

    • Hello dear friend. What does the moment try to tell me? I also asked this question and got the answer was to be present and let the experience of being present be a teacher. Thanks for asking such a vital question. 🙂

      rgl

      October 25, 2012 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

