Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Walking Through My Own Life

with 2 comments

Another ascent and more rocks that force one to concentrate and not daydream on the GR 65 in southern-eastern France.

For some reason, I am finding it harder to write here at Through a Jungian Lens. It isn’t because I am bored with the process or that I find it meaningless; it is about something deeper than that. I don’t want to just keep posting because of habit.  I want to post because there is something that I need to say. So, I am following and honouring that feeling. I hope my readers here will be patient with the small lapses into silence.

I continue to be drawn to the photos I took in France, especially the “GR 65 trail photos.” I wondered about this rather than my “trail-less” nature photos of places I wander. Perhaps it is because my path in life, a unique path of one, is contained in family, community, culture and friendships. I don’t exist in isolation. My life touches others and my life is touched by others. This is a vital lesson I learned while walking the GR 65. My footsteps are mine, the silence and aloneness experienced on the trail were real giving me plenty of time to feel, think and meditate. Yet, I was aware that others had walked the trail before me and that others would follow the trail behind me, a constant stream of humanity.

Listening to and reading the stories that have formed our mythologies, I am learning that the trails I walk in my mind, in my imagination and fantasies, in my hesitant wandering through the darker inner landscapes are not trails that have never been travelled before. Myths and tales tell me that others have been here before and that others are yet to come to walk these trails.

It’s a blow to my ego which would like to believe that I walk where no one has ever walked before, both in my life and in my mind. But these blows to the ego are just what is necessary if I am to find a balance in life, if I am to realise that I am more than what my ego would like to believe. Buddhism has helped in coming to a better understanding of ego and its limited version of reality. Jungian psychology has also added so much to my understanding. But more than either of these, I am gaining a better understanding simply through walking through my own life and hearing echoes in the stories of those who have gone before me.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 25, 2012 at 11:05 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is a downside of archetype – ‘it’s all been done before”
    We can fill in the blanks but the stencil is not a choice.

    Urspo

    October 25, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    • Yes, there is a downside to archetype as you note. But then again, for there to be balance there is a light and dark, an up and downside to everything both within and without. Beware of saints and gurus – and if you meet the Buddha on the trail, be very, very careful of the great shadow that goes alongside.

      rgl

      October 27, 2012 at 1:46 pm


Leave a Reply

