Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Through a Portal

with 4 comments

Doorway in Saint Chely d’Aubrac near the Pont de Pelerins.

I have always been fascinated by doors and windows. Doors are portals into spaces and places. Though this door leads to open space, there is a sense of magic about where this door would lead if one could only allow imagination free rein. One would have to allow time to shift to a distant past if one were to enter into what might have been behind this particular door. Yet, that isn’t the only possibility. One could also use the door as a way to enter a fractal universe, one that would lay ready for discovery in the present if one could only navigate the boundaries between possibilities.

Another universe does lie behind the door. If one would dare see the door as a portal to an inner world, and if only one would dare to enter through the door into that inner world in order to begin a journey that has its own magic, its own heroes, its own pilgrims and wizards and witches and monsters and riches, one could take on the role of hero in search of the treasures hidden there, treasures that would enrich psychologically and spiritually.

Will you enter through the portal in search of the you that has been hidden?

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 30, 2012 at 11:27 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love Portals! All of my favorite stories have people going through Portals to The Lands Beyond.

    Urspo

    October 30, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    • I have many, perhaps too many, photos of portals. 🙂 In my undergraduate days, I presented a slide show of portals in an urban environment that hinted at magic, for one of my courses. The lands beyond portals are both psychological and spacial.

      rgl

      November 5, 2012 at 12:12 pm

  2. Dear Friend,
    Thank you for this Post and perfect corresponding picture.
    Yes, I took your invitation to enter the door many years ago as you know, by force – blinded with greed of the treasures I intended would find on the other side of the door.
    And as I was totally unprepared, I was confronted with the Keeper(s) of the gate.
    So I ran back, but was unable to close the door and let the Keeper(s) escaped and they haunted me for many years – I consider myself lucky (not to get crazy) that I finally could close the door, but I could not do this until I discovered the monstrous (dark) elements IN myself.
    I think that you know all about this by your own experience.

    As the years passed by and through the experiences in my life, which allowed me very slowly to discover a little bit about who I really am – now I am able to pass through the door freely, not with greed, but with humbleness – because I accepted that the dark creatures on the other side are linked to me.

    Jung use to say that many people refuse to look in their selves because intuitively they are aware of the presence of dark monsters that they are likely to encounter.

    To me it seems, that Nature provides the right time in everybody’s life when one is allowed (prepared) to pass through the door unharmed – not sooner.
    The question remains however, that when this time has arrived for a person – this person would or would not enter the door – the choice is all up to him or her, as everything in life is about making choices.

    Opa Bear

    October 31, 2012 at 3:28 am

    • Your words amplify what I had hoped to say, Opa. I treasure that you share your experience here. Thank you.

      rgl

      November 5, 2012 at 12:13 pm


Leave a Reply

