Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Winter Starlings

leave a comment »

Winter Starlings – November, 2012

A large number of Starlings have been visiting our yard and keeping busy with feeding on the left-overs to be found on the crab apple tree and on the ground. I didn’t recognise the birds. It wasn’t until after this photo had been taken that I was able to find them in my bird book. Somehow the normally black starling changes in appearance with the coming of winter. It didn’t take me long to note that the black turning into a “salt and pepper” colour was similar to what had happened to my as I shifted from mature adult into senior citizen. And as a result, I realised that I am a mortal being with days that are numbered. It wasn’t a morbid thought, just a recognition of the reality of being human. One is born, grows, matures, descends and dies. It all is natural.

 

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

