Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Rules To Play and Live By

with 4 comments

Learning to build a sense of right and wrong

One of my grandsons is now a hockey referee. His job it to teach younger girls and boys who play hockey, that there is a right way and a wrong way to act in the game of hockey. His uniform says it all. The game [world] is black and white, there are rules to play by and to live by.

At my stage of life, I am learning that the world is not as black and white as I first learned and then taught. This is important for me to realise, that it is about one’s stage of life. As a youth and then as an adult, it is important to build a foundation for behaviour within community. Without life experience as a foundation, rules help us relate in safe ways, safe for ourselves and for others.

Now that I have moved well into the second half of life, I am loosening up on my self-imposed rules. My identity and place within the world is no longer at risk. I am able to wrestle with the ambiguity of being in a world of colour and innumerable shades of grey.

Life is messy and able to contain its opposites and still be perfect. Perfect for me, is an attitude of accepting existence as a state of existence in itself, not as a regulated and ordered state of existence.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 21, 2012 at 12:47 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark Twain once said it makes sense to obey all the rules when you are young, so you have enough strength to break them when you are old.

    Urspo

    November 21, 2012 at 11:37 pm

  2. Dear Friend,

    Thank you in sharing this excellent Post.

    I think the essence lays in your words :”Perfect for me, is an attitude of accepting existence as a state of existence in itself, not as a regulated and ordered state of existence”.

    I think that when one think this Post over – one is able to receive many answers on questions about, rules, laws and behavior and many more things that are connected, to individuals as well as for our collectivity.

    Opa Bear

    November 22, 2012 at 2:54 am

    • As always, my friend, you find words to balance and expand the idea of my posts. I value your “thinking” and “responding” to the words I bring here. Laws and behaviours are connected to us as individuals as a balance to the chaos from which it springs.

      rgl

      November 24, 2012 at 10:42 am


Leave a Reply

