Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Pre-Dawn Darkness

with 7 comments

Waiting for sunrise – November 2012

I often get up in the pre-dawn darkness when the world is silent, and sit with a cup of coffee in my hand and watch the sky begin to lighten, listening to the silence without a thought in my head. After a while I notice that my coffee has remained untouched and has cooled because the house is kept at a cool 16 Celsius (60 F.) overnight. In the silence and the waning light of dawn, especially on cloudy days such as today, ego awareness is as slow to waken. It is as though I have remained in the land of dreams even though my body has left my bed and shows signs of having begun a new day.

As I sit there, words began to call out seeking to be freed from the depths of darkness. A rush of images, of possibilities, of impossibilities cascade into almost recognisable scenes. I am aware that I have been gifted with dreamscapes and stories. I have been gifted with these knowing that it is now my duty to find some way to bring them to the outer world where others may hear and see these stories. Will I be able to find the will to make this happen? Only time will tell. For now, I can only offer you this image taken this morning.

 

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 26, 2012 at 8:57 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this time of day as well. Lovely quiet, with the sense of Light’s approach.

    Urspo

    November 26, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    • Yes, it is a magical, luminous time of day when it is possible to slip through the liminal boundaries.

      rgl

      November 27, 2012 at 10:26 am

  2. Dear Friend,
    Thank you for this Post about these Magical Moments.
    But as the light grows stronger, the magic slowly disappears and as the day starts, only faint traces of this magic experience will remain when we are lucky – because the Ego world is so strong to occupy us.
    But nevertheless we are truly blesses when we are able to experience this “gratefulness”.

    Opa Bear

    November 27, 2012 at 3:09 am

    • This is why it is so important to seize the moment when it arrives. Procrastination might not allow another opportunity to present itself.

      rgl

      November 27, 2012 at 10:27 am

  3. My favorite time, as well…while the other sleep on, the quiet is rich and compelling, restoring…centering. I like your view…..

    seekraz

    January 18, 2013 at 2:36 pm

  4. 🙂

    seekraz

    January 21, 2013 at 3:57 pm


Leave a Reply

