Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Waning Crescent – A Descent Into An Unconscious Realm

with 5 comments

Waning Crescent – A Descent Into the Unconscious

The moon is beginning to wane to begin its journey into darkness where it will be lost in the earth’s shadow before beginning another cycle of re-appearance. As the moon appears in the sky, whether in daytime hours or at night, both my wife and I are drawn to its appearance. For both of us, for perhaps different reasons, the moon has a numinous quality that says it is more than what meets the eye, more than a spherical hunk of rock in the orbit of the earth.

A descent isn’t always something that needs to be viewed with trepidation. If one is able to watch with a sense of mystery, one begins to understand that there is something to be gained in a descent into the unconscious realms. Wandering in the shadows allows us to find what would otherwise remain hidden treasures.

In a way, meditation is not much different. Each time I sit and enter into a meditative state I enter into a place where my ego is released from control. I enter into a state of unconsciousness, a journey that takes me to spaces of existence that somehow affirm who I am in a larger context, a being beyond the small controlling ego sense of self. As I return to my body self and my ego consciousness kicks back into awareness, I bring back some of what I have experienced, experiences which have slightly changed me.

Like the passing of days, of moon cycles, of seasons and years, I change with acquired experience and hard-won awareness of both myself and the world. I have learned that the darkness is a part of the light; and that the light is a part of the darkness. And so I treasure the magic and mystery of that white orb in the darkened skies for what she teaches me about my soul which is hidden in the darkness of my inner being.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that was lovely; thank you

    Urspo

    December 10, 2012 at 10:07 pm

  2. And yet oft-times I have found things causing trepidation. I hope one day to have more wanings into the darkness- as do you- which are less so, and just nourish.

    Susan

    December 28, 2012 at 2:58 am

    • Tread lightly and with good heart in the shadow lands, Susan. Happy New Year.

      rgl

      December 28, 2012 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

