Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Christmas as a Gift of Hope and Light from Children

with 4 comments

Father and child

Father and child

Technically, Joseph isn’t supposed to be the father of the baby Jesus, at least that is what any God-fearing  Christian would say. Jesus is the son of the creator, a deity Christians call God. But of course, we are all sons and daughters of that which we have a multitude of names, the creative force that gave birth to the universe. As I look at this image, a painting by Guido Reni (1640), I see myself as a father and as a grandfather with his son or grandson.

As I looked into the eyes of my own son when he was a newborn I was in wonder of the miracle of life. I had acted as a creator and what I had created with the participation of his mother, was immortality. As I looked at my infant son I saw that I had been saved from nothingness, that the human race had found yet another saviour who would follow in the footsteps of his father to create yet another gift of hope for humankind.

As I looked into the eyes of my grandsons upon their entrance into my universe, I was again amazed, not at anything I had done, but amazed at how the gift of life traces its course from the beginning of possibilities to some undated and unknown future when the cycle of birth, death and renewal. The promise of hope that each child gives us is the gift that is celebrated at Christmas, at the darkest time of year when we need the reassurances that there will be a new cycle to live, a new year of light to come.

Christmas is for children, Christmas is about children. The greatest gift of Christmas is the hope the children bring to the hearts and souls of adults who have become too close to the darkness, fearful of the darkness.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 25, 2012 at 11:24 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Christmas to you and all your descendants !

    Urspo

    December 25, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    • And to you and Someone as well as extended family and friends.

      rgl

      December 28, 2012 at 11:32 am

  2. Happy christmas to you and your family. I have enjoyed your reflections and insights and seeing the world through your eyes. As a grandfather I share the awe and joy that is the gift of love and consciousness . Cheers,Bob from – where the days are warm and the beer is cold.

    Bob cvetkovic

    December 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    • Hmmm, I might want to visit and share a beer with you. Happy New Year.

      rgl

      December 28, 2012 at 11:34 am


Leave a Reply

