Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Och Chan and the Lance de Fer Snake

with 4 comments

Fer de lance - poisonous snake in Belize

Fer de lance – poisonous snake in Belize

I was able to get close enough to this not so small snake as I neared the end of a small group tour at the Lamanai Mayan ruins. It is called fer de lance, although it’s more correctly called Bothrops Asper, a member of the viper family. This snake is very dangerous. Still, I left the safety of the raised path I was on in order to get down to his level and get this photo, not a great photo, but good enough as I didn’t want to get too much closer. Apparently the lance de fer is commonly found around Mayan ruins and it has been suggested that the choice of location for a Mayan site was dependent upon the presence of poisonous snakes as a protective barrier. Of course, that sent me in search of more information which took me to Och Chan, or God K of the Mayan religion.

Och Chan - Mayan God - Snake God

Och Chan – Mayan God – Snake God

I don’t want to tell too much here but perhaps save a bigger tale after I have been to Hell (Xibalba) and back a trip that will occur in the near future. For now, it is enough to know that the snake again figures in the original story of creation and again involves a woman. There, I hope that either sends you searching for more or whets your appetite for when I return to this topic sometime next week.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yow! No poisonous snakes please !

    Urspo

    February 17, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    • I am intrigued with snakes though I do fear them as well, especially poisonous snakes though that doesn’t stop me from wanting to take a photo of four of these snakes. 🙂

      rgl

      February 24, 2013 at 7:37 am

  2. Dear Robert,
    Thank you for this Post.
    I am looking forward to your next Post about this subject.

    Opa Bear

    February 18, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    • 🙂 I am also looking forward to my next post on this topic.

      rgl

      February 24, 2013 at 7:37 am


Leave a Reply

