Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Art in the Park – Corozal, Belize

with 6 comments

Black and white - well, not really.

Black and white – well, not really.

It has been a week since my last post. I could claim being busy since then, but that would simply be an excuse that has little to do with reality. I have been doing things, reading, writing and simply being present as the days float by. On Saturday I went to the town of Corozal’s Central Park for the monthly event called Art in the Park. My wife and I wandered through the park a few times while I took photos. Seeing all that there was to offer, we settled on eating pupustas and garnachas. We followed those with some local baking that involved the use of coconut and then a final walk around the park before deciding to head back to our villa apartment.

Before leaving, this young black man who decided that he wanted Maureen to take “our” photo, a photo of a white man and a nigger as he called himself. He was demanding and almost confronting in his attitude. When I said I didn’t think he was a nigger as they don’t really exist, he asked if I knew any Spanish. At that moment I realised, that I had been listening all wrong – nigra (negra) as black. In the end, the photo was taken while we enjoyed a good laugh. Of course I knew he was hoping for a few dollars for his photo with me, and I was more than willing to part with the money. Would he spend the money on food, beverage or even drugs? I don’t have the answer, nor do I want to pre-judge the young man.

Now that I see the photo, the notion that I am a “white” man seems a bit of a stretch. I really do show my racial heritage – dark European and Canadian First Nations – or as is said here in Latin America, Mestizo, the Spanish version of Métis.

 

Written by Robert G. Longpré

February 19, 2013 at 3:38 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And that mis-hearing… we are so used to hearing things one way that we react from a preconception of what is meant.

    Lotus Eater

    February 19, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    • I think it was a challenge and not really a mis-hearing. 🙂 I guess what was to follow would depend on how I had responded to his challenge, and it was there as an “in your face” challenge.

      rgl

      February 24, 2013 at 7:39 am

  2. you do look tanned, ‘gone native’ as they used to say.

    Urspo

    February 19, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    • Ah. but that is because I am part native my good doctor. 🙂

      rgl

      February 24, 2013 at 7:39 am

  3. Dear Robert,

    Wow, it also seems that the sun is making you to appear younger !
    Maybe because of your laugh, maybe because you are “feeling” happy.
    But I don’t think that the absence of your mustache has anything to do with it.

    Opa Bear

    February 21, 2013 at 1:58 am

    • Hmmm? I somehow think facial hair does make me appear to be older, wiser, more serious – sometimes the Trickster / Fool needs to come out and play. 🙂

      rgl

      February 24, 2013 at 7:42 am


Leave a Reply

