Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Tuesday Thoughts in Playa del Carmen

with 2 comments

Belize Dawn Sun

Belize Dawn Sun

I am halfway through my stay in Playa del Carmen and somehow I haven’t seem to be able to find time, motivation or energy to approach this blog site. I could blame the Internet connection which is ver-r-r-r-r-y slow and sometime non-existent in spite of the fact that the connection utility tells me I am connected with five bars of signal strength, the highest. I could blame Internet, but that wouldn’t be telling the truth. Something else is activated (or not activated that should be) within me, something that has had me in disconnect mode, or perhaps in retreat mode. Even my daily meditation has been affected with me missing meditation practice for the first three days here. I have been somehow been perched on a high-wire balancing between going forward, going backward, or simply falling off the wire. Hopefully the stalemate has passed and I can once again follow my path through the days of my life with less high-wire balancing tension.

I guess it is enough just to be aware that this is my condition at the present.

“Being conscious is not a question of IQ. It has very little to do with how smart we are, or the accumulation of knowledge- how much we know. It’s a completely subjective phenomenon. It depends on how much we know about ourselves.” [Sharp, Getting to Know You, p. 27]

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 5, 2013 at 5:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed, I’ve seen no correlation between consciousness and IQ. I find bright people who are unconscious rather tragic you would think they would ‘know better’. But that’s the point; thinking and consciousness are seldom linked.

    Urspo

    March 10, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    • I think IQ can be a trap, so to speak, which gets in the way in that an individual trusts only his or her thinking and analytical aptitudes, distrusting intuition and feeling functions.

      rgl

      March 11, 2013 at 9:01 am


Leave a Reply

