Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Shadowy Spaces Within My Psyche

with 2 comments

Portal Maya - Man and woman cast in bronze in Parque Fundatores, Playa del Carmen

Portal Maya – Man and woman cast in bronze in Parque Fundadores, Playa del Carmen

One of the hardest things that I am forced to confront about my ego self is a tendency to be stubborn and hold onto things and ideas as if they were carved in concrete. Growing older, my body is telling me just how absurd this is.

“. . . there is a widespread notion that the ancient Gods can provide models of identity and sexuality for boys and men, while the Goddesses provide such models for women and girls. The origins of the notion are obvious: the Gods are felt to be masculine archetypal essences that have a bearing on males, while the Goddesses represent feminine styles appropriate for women. However, this simple equation is mistaken, mainly because the Gods and Goddesses represent metaphorical possibilities within the human psyche, and cannot be neatly parcelled out to this or that gender. The masculinity of the Gods and the femininity of the Goddesses must not be equated with the maleness of men and the femaleness of women. To make such an equation is to engage in concrete or literal thinking . . .” [Tacey, Remaking Men, p. 22]

As I grow older, I am engaging more in the feminine aspects of who I am under my skin that is lined with wrinkles and creases that accumulate as I age. It isn’t so easy for me to maintain the certainty of my masculinity though there is no disputing my maleness. It wasn’t that long ago that I truly did look only to the ancient Gods in my attempts to understand my self. Thanks to all the Gods and Goddesses for waking me up and coming to understand that all of you are buried somewhere in the shadowy spaces within my psyche

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 9, 2013 at 6:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think gay men are more readily in touch than straight men with The Feminine. However, I’ve found all men – gay or straight – are anxious about getting in touch with the Feminine. The gay ones are worried the process will reveal they aren’t gay at all, while the straights are worried getting in touch will show they are gay.

    Urspo

    March 10, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    • I think I would have to agree with you, good Doctor, based on what I have learned for the gay men who are family and friends in my life. Thanks for bringing this to the discussion.

      rgl

      March 11, 2013 at 8:58 am


Leave a Reply

