Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Easter In Mexico

with one comment

Behind the scenes in Puerto Morelos

Behind the scenes in Puerto Morelos

It’s Easter Sunday morning in Puerto Morelos, Mexico. This means that in two weeks from today I will be flying home with my wife to Canada. But of course, there is more to Easter Sunday than a calendar reminder for me. I have chosen a photo I took two days ago, the view from behind the small church in Puerto Morelos, with a statue of Mary beneath one of the lattice windows of the church. I haven’t attended any Easter service since 1993 when I attended the service in Avignon, France. Somewhere along the way, I lost the connection with my French Catholic heritage. However, I never did lose the resonance with the mysteries of soul and spirit that certain days are able to evoke.

Today is the official day of a new season of life, for me, an annual resurrection like some phoenix bird arising out of the ashes of the old year. The warmth of the sun urges flowers to appear, stirs animals and birds to come together for unconscious procreative purposes. As I meditated this morning, I felt the stirring as well. What new manifestation of my self will arise from the tomb of who I was, what new consciousness will burst forth into the sunshine of rebirth.

Happy Easter!

Written by Robert G. Longpré

March 31, 2013 at 8:47 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so long as it has chocolate eggs associated with it.

    Urspo

    March 31, 2013 at 9:36 pm


Leave a Reply

