Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

At Home in Canada

with 5 comments

Is it spring yet? April, 2013

Is it spring yet? April, 2013

I am back home in Canada. I have been home for almost a week and have yet to discover spring-like conditions. With snow still laying on the ground, slowly melting into what can best be described as a wet mess, it is the perfect time for sitting indoors and thinking. I realise that I have been posting very little here or on my other blog sites, but I am not very worried about that in the least. I haven’t abandoned them, but have simply taken some space and time for other things in my life. I will continue to post relevant articles on each of the blog sites that are appropriate for the theme of each site.

I have been keeping busy with a number of different activities such as snow removal, checking out resources and building extended community networks based on Buddhist and Naturist interests. But mostly, I have been writing. The writing isn’t destined for any of my blog sites. Rather, it is an attempt at a book, what could best be described as a non-fiction book. I have created an outline, written the preface and have begun to fill in the blank spaces. At some point I will call on a few of you to proofread the work in hopes of getting it ready for publication. With that said, I will leave this alone and now talk of other things. For this space, Through a Jungian Lens, I intend continuing with the subject of Mother-Complex. There is a lot more to yet be said.

On another front, I am finding a pull back into reading the works of James Hillman and of another Jungian oriented writer, Thomas Moore, author of Care of the Soul. His books with titles such as The Lost Sutras of Jesus and The Soul’s Religion have piqued my interest. I was led to discover the existence of these books through two separate incidents. The first was a question from my wife about Care of the Soul, a book I read a long time ago. More recently, I received notice from Huffington Post about an article written by Moore called “Catholic Without A Church“, an article that resonated with me. Somewhere along the way, I lost my connection to the church while still remaining a catholic. Other books waiting for my attention are Buddhist in orientation, with titles by Osho, Pema Chodron, Chogyam Trungpa and a few others. Of course I won’t have time this spring for all of these books. Simply thinking of taking time for them is filling me with a sense of anticipation.

With this now said, I will take my leave and return relatively soon with the next instalment in the Mother-Complex series.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

April 20, 2013 at 3:46 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I look with great interest at your blog pages frequently. I think it very interesting that you are moving towards “Catholic” without the church, while pursuing Buddhism and Buddhist meditation: this reminds me of Thomas Merton, whose work has also been for a long time of great — and increasingly perplexing! — interest. I’ll be interested in seeing where you go, but I suspect your ideas will become increasingly deep and rich. Power to you!

    Allen

    April 21, 2013 at 5:30 am

    • Where am I headed? I don’t think I know the answer. The presence of Catholicism in my youth served to validate my sense of self as a spiritual being. The organisational church frustrated and betrayed me and its own potential for spirituality. In Buddhism I connect with its philosophical roots that are not about temples or sects. In so many ways, I find Buddhism re-awakening, re-affirming my spiritual centre that was buried deep within beside all the garbage. Will you find me wearing robes and chanting Sutras and disappearing? Not likely. But what will emerge as I wander through collecting bits and pieces that resonate is more about becoming a more peaceful person within and without. Thanks, Allen.

      rgl

      April 24, 2013 at 7:51 am

  2. Dear Friend,
    I am glad to read that you have arrived home safe and sound.
    Hmm,…. white snow and a tanned body, that should do good for a picture, (smile !).

    Interesting to read that so much is boiling inside you – in due time, I am interested when dinner is served !

    Isn’t Hillman having controversial idea’s, by others that he is referring to Symbols
    as mere images and therefore robs them from their potential (numinous) ?

    Opa Bear

    April 21, 2013 at 6:10 am

    • Yes, it will be interesting to find out what appears when dinner is finally served. And yes, Hillman is controversial even in his death. Hillman had a lot to say about images, saying that “images don’t stand for anything” but that images are the psyche itself. He said, “an image is not what one sees but the way in which one sees.” As Hillman uses the word “image,” there is no mere image. If anything, images or symbols or things all become numinous when the mind is ready, when imagination asserts its authority over the mind which is otherwise simply a functional tool not much different that the minds found in all animate life. But then again, I will undoubtedly learn more in reading and re-reading the works of Hillman I have in my collection, as well as Thomas Moore’s resonances to Archetypal and Jungian psychology. Thank you dear friend for your intriguing questions. 🙂 – Robert

      rgl

      April 24, 2013 at 8:03 am

  3. Synchronicity has me making my plans of the annual trek to Canada as you traveled home. I look forward to be back there in August.

    Urspo

    April 25, 2013 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

