Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Lost in Time and Space

with 4 comments

Cultivating a profoundly spiritual life.

Cultivating a profoundly spiritual life.

No, I am not really lost, but the will to be here and writing did indeed get lost in some unnamed place and time. Now that I have found my way back from wherever I was, I find myself looking forward to returning here and discovering whatever it was that has been brewing in the silence. I am not ready to return to the theme of mother-complex at this time. Rather, I would like to wander through a different place. I recently ordered and received a number of books by Thomas Moore. One book particularly caught my attention, The Soul’s Religion.

Now, as many of you already know, I have long been focused on my own spiritual and psychological growth, doing what I can to become more conscious of the whole of who or what I am. I have been studying Jungian psychology for decades in my attempts at self-understanding, attempts at becoming a more conscious human being. Even more of my life has wandered through various churches, religions and spiritual practices in hopes of coming to understand the numinous core of who or what I am. I sense that core’s presence, but have yet to find it’s location within me, if it is within.

In more recent times I have more formally entered into a relationship with Buddhism, not quite a religion, but more of a spiritual philosophical way of being in the world, relating to the world. Buddhism has given me much, but even it doesn’t quite give me all that I need. Perhaps it is my early spiritual grounding in the Catholic Church, and my intellectual grounding in Jungian psychology that is to blame, if blame needs to be given out. Today, I am still reaching out, hoping for just a bit more. Perhaps with just a bit more I won’t find my soul still lost in some unknown place and time.

Over the next while, I will make my way through this book and record my resonances and questions and wonderings here. It feels good to be back.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello fellow Robert, I appreciate your comments and thoughts about your spiritual journey, which very much parallels my own. For 40+ years, after reading Memories, Dreams & Reflections, I’ve kept a journal. It has been the one constant through jobs, work, relationships, sickness and health and I have Jung to thank for it.

    Robert Caldwell

    August 3, 2013 at 5:50 am

    • It is a pleasure to have met you here at Through a Jungian Lens, fellow Robert. 🙂 I do hope to have you continue to add your thoughts here. Thank you.

      rgl

      August 4, 2013 at 12:26 pm

  2. I have not Moore in a long while: it was nice to see him ‘still in the saddle” as it were. When I am in Ontario next week (Thinking of you!) I will get his latest tome.

    Urspo

    August 4, 2013 at 10:37 am

    • You might also enjoy “Written in the Sand” and “The Soul of Sex.” 🙂 Good to have your voice continuing to be present here, good Doctor ‘Spo.

      rgl

      August 4, 2013 at 12:29 pm


Leave a Reply

