Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Watching The Sunrise As Mindful Meditation

with 2 comments

The sun rises each day, sometimes hidden, sometimes shining to bid good morning to the earth.

The sun rises each day, sometimes hidden, sometimes shining to bid good morning to the earth.

It’s a pensive kind of day. Waking up at 5:30, I get to see the sunrise unlike during the summer when the sun was up long before I got up. I sit still on the sofa in a house that has cooled off with the drop in night-time temperatures, with a cup of coffee in my hands and look out the window at the distant hills. I watch as the darkness begins to gently fade telling me that the sun is approaching the horizon. Then, a faint tinge of gold begins to appear as reflections on leaves and windows of neighboring houses and gardens. I sit in silence, with thoughts stilled, simply being present, breathing without thoughts of breathing.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

September 15, 2013 at 3:37 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the first part of my life I liked sunsets; now that I am ‘over the hill’ I like sunsets rather.

    Urspo

    September 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    • 🙂 I like both sunsets and sunrises.

      rgl

      September 30, 2013 at 8:31 am


Leave a Reply

