Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Happy Samhain From a Happy Soul

with one comment

The soul is found in the body and mind but is neither.

The soul is found in the body and mind but is neither.

I found this image somewhere on the Internet, probably in facebook or twitter as I scrolled through my threads at both places. I immediately loved the image in spite of the words that were written there. It’s not that the words don’t speak the truth, they do. But, the words seem to imply that it is the whole truth. Perhaps it is just me being a bit ornery, but regardless, it is how I respond to the image’s words. The image on the other hand evokes a sense of alchemy, the stated of nigredo and rubedo. And at another level, it almost feels as though it is a personal avatar. I have ancestral heritage that is that of the red man, and of course, like all men, my shadow is black.

So why did this image catch my attention today? I’m not sure. However, I might hazard a guess that it has to do with my writing. This morning I brought to a close the practice novel which did exceed 50,000 words in thirty days. With that novel now set aside for further work in the future, I turned to preparing for the NaNoWriMo event which begins on All Saints’ Day, November 1st.

All Saints’ Day is part of an older festival of harvest called Samhain which begins at sunset on October 31st and ends at sunset on November 1st. Halloween only accounts for the first half of the festival, the night half which has fire (red) and night (black) as the dominant colours. Ah, now I see the connection. I have just reached a transition point in my writing, a transition that will take me into a time of fire and darkness – a darkness of soul and the fire of promised light. Like my ancestral heritage which blends the Celtic roots in Brittany with the Mohawk roots in eastern Canada, my story will tell the story of a Phoenix rising from the ashes of what used to be to a new life in a new land.

I will say more about this story in the future. For now, it is time to sit back with a glass of red wine and watch night arrive.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

October 30, 2013 at 8:27 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on finishing your novel! I loved the happy feeling of this post. Isn’t creative work just the most healing, restorative form of inner work there is? I can’t wait to hear what comes out of your writing challenge this month. I’ll be cheering for you!

    Jeanie

    Jean Raffa

    November 4, 2013 at 12:45 pm


Leave a Reply

