Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

NaNoWriMo – It Is Written.

with 3 comments

Life stories buried beneath layers of snow

Life stories buried beneath layers of snow

As the title of this post announces, I have finished writing the novel that was begun on November 1st. The challenge was to write 50,000 words in thirty days by midnight, November 30th. At the thirteenth day mark, I had written the first draft reaching the objective with a couple of hundred words to spare. Then began the rewrite process. As I navigated through the mess of the first draft, I cut and slashed those parts which were outside of my comfort zone. I made demands upon myself to have the story fit with who I am as a person. Vulgar language was tossed along with the mess.

Ten days later, I have finished this rewrite and find myself wondering how, with all the slash and burn, I have managed to end up with more than 62,000 words. But even more surprising is that with the last words, I knew that I had just written the beginning words of a larger story. So now, what do I do with this story? I don’t even have a decent title for my novel. What began as a challenge issued by the NaNoWriMo group has morphed into something else. My tale found its own raison d’être. I am loathe to let it now lie fallow and get buried beneath layers of time like the ground outside is buried under layers of snow.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

November 23, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah my friend you have given birth to a monster! 🙂

    Now whether you envision a commercial potential or not, you may be looking at a trilogy of beginning, middle and end in order to exhaust what is inside you and needs to get out(?)

    But hey, you are the Jungian! And the aspiring novelist. Weaving the two together could in fact offer to the world some aha insights to those dealing with their own shadows. Interesting business eh what? Clearly you have, and want, to say a great deal through fiction rather than say attempting some weighty academic tome. At least now you don’t have to do it in one month and can take more time and deliberate on what it is you have to say.

    Plough ahead. Think screenplay!

    Cheers,

    Bill

    Bill Rathborne

    November 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    • Yes, Bill. A monster has been born and is demanding its dues. 🙂

      rgl

      December 1, 2013 at 4:23 pm

  2. What a marvelous experience. I suggest you resist its wanting to come out and keep writing until it/you are done.

    Urspo

    November 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm


Leave a Reply

