Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

On Becoming My True Voice

with 5 comments

NakedPoetry

Naked Poetry: By the Sea and On the Prairies – Poetry, Psychology and Photography

I have been writing for most of my life, something that had defined who I was from adolescence. Now, fifty years later, I am, as my long-time friend Robert Heyward notes,  it “seems (to me at least) that you are becoming your true voice.” And, in hearing Robert’s voice, I now realise that I have, indeed entered into a certain level of peace, almost satisfaction with my writing. The anxieties seem to have fallen to the wayside. I am writing for myself, rather than for others. I don’t pretend that my writing is needed by the world or that I will find fame and fortune as a writer anymore. It is enough that I write and share the words with others rather than horde the words in secretly hidden caverns.  I write because my voice demands this of me.

And so, I have listened. I write, and I share what I have written. It is important for me, as a Buddhist and as a human, to share, to give back to the world. My projects of writing now include creating eBook versions which are given to the world for free. I don’t worry about what some publisher or writer’s guild says in terms of trying to control the shape, form and often even the very existence of my writing in the outer world.

I now have two books available as eBooks as well as in print versions, the latest being the book of poetry called Naked Poetry: By the Sea and On the Prairies. The book includes images which are meant to add to the experiences of the words. I find it hard to separate words and images and have learned to accept that this is just the way it is for me as a writer. Now, with the poetry book published, I am returning to the fourth volume in the Through a Jungian Lens series, called Discovering The Hero Within. This book, originally written in 2009 was never published. The task now becomes one of reviving and editing that earlier work so that I can give it as a gift to my children and anyone else who might find it of worth for themselves. Life in retirement has become busy indeed, very busy. And, in becoming my true voice, life has taken on significant meaning.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 1, 2013 at 12:21 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert, In reading this piece I was immediately reminded of Erik Erikson’s theory about the 8 stages of life. Here’s what he says of the last stage: Maturity(65 to death). He calls this the time of Ego Integrity vs. Despair. It’s task is Reflection on Life. His description: Older adults need to look back on life and feel a sense of fulfillment. Success at this stage leads to feelings of wisdom, while failure results in regret, bitterness, and despair. Congratulations, my friend. I would say you’ve already passed with flying colors and can look forward to growing wiser and more fulfilled with each year!

    Jean Raffa

    December 1, 2013 at 1:39 pm

  2. How long has your life taken on significant meaning? As has it only happened now in retirement?

    Urspo

    December 1, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    • I would say that as I shift through the stages of life, each stage has found its unique significant meaning. Life/individuation refuses to travel in a straight line. Rather, it cycles and circles and sets us again and again through the crucible of making meaning.

      rgl

      December 1, 2013 at 4:22 pm

  3. Robert, Your true voice resonates in my soul.

    Patricia

    December 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm


Leave a Reply

