Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

The Universe Within You

with one comment

Beneath the surface of self lies the universe.

Beneath the surface of self lies the universe.

“Behind your image, below your words, above your thoughts, the silence of another world awaits. A world lives within you. No one else can bring you news of this inner world.” [O’Donohue, Anam Cara, p. xv]

For the past several weeks, as I have been writing off-line, I didn’t think about what I was writing. I simply sat down in front of my laptop and let the words pour out without trying to edit or censor them. Each day I sat in my home office and waited for the words to come. Usually, it only took a few moments before the words started to pour forth as if a switch had been frozen in the “on” position. Every once in a while I would re-surface from where the words were coming from and realise where I was, back in my office. I was distracted and set the writing aside to do other things that were in front of me, at times writing a blog post, sending tweets, or posting to my Facebook account, usually clicking on “like” buttons for things sent by children, grandchildren and others. I would get up and stretch, wander off for a cup of coffee, or even simply wonder why I wasn’t doing something else. Then, the pull back into the words came demanding I attend tot he call.

It wasn’t simply that I wrote a novel of more than sixty-four thousand words; but, it was that those words told a story that needed to be told. And beneath that story I glimpsed of other stories, all that are waiting within me, stories that are more than simple autobiographical fictions. What surprised me most was that beneath the layers of these stories there exists a universe that holds all the experiences of my life – remembered and forgotten. Yet, that wasn’t all that I saw, I saw beneath even the story of myself into other stories that are tied into my story – stories and lives that are not bound by time. This would have been enough to overwhelm, but there was more. I felt the intimate presence of others from my current life who have not made a physical presence into my life, but have existed on the ethereal level of “at distance” relationship.

I stopped looking for more though I knew that even with what I had seen, it had only been the smallest fraction of what lies within. I tasted the collective unconscious world. It stopped being a theoretical and psychological construct and took on something beyond anything my mind could ever hope to encompass. And for a moment, I began to understand that expression often told to and by Christians. “The Kingdom is within you.”

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 6, 2013 at 3:17 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love it, Robert. This has been my experience with writing too. Also with dreamwork. Thank goodness for Jung for guiding me in this direction. Blessings on your work and throughout this holiday of love and new life. Jeanie

    Jean Raffa

    December 6, 2013 at 3:35 pm


Leave a Reply

