Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Beyond the Edges of Words

with one comment

Roads like words point in two directions. Yet there is something just off the edge of words and roads that will also have their say.

Roads like words point in two directions. Yet there is something just off the edge of words and roads that will also have their say.

I have this link that will take you to the download page of all my free e-books hosted at Smashwords. With that taken care of, I am finding myself shifting between too many words that are begging for my attention. I have a burning need to write more about Psychological Alchemy and see that as the next book. Yet, more poetry is being born in the in-between spaces for a collection that will follow the Naked Poems volume I that is included in the above list. And then there are other words.

I write, and I read. The words of others that have told me something about their authors as well as something more about myself are like a tenuous film that separates authors and readers from a world that neither are really cognizant about, an archetypal world. I can understand how one could simply retreat into a silence awed by the immensity of trying to find words to express that which is beyond our poor minds.

Again, I return to the words of John O’Donohue:

An unknown world aspires toward reflection. Words are the oblique mirrors that hold your thoughts. You gaze into these word-mirrors and catch glimpses of meaning, belonging, and shelter. Behind their bright surfaces is the dark and the silence. Words are like the god Janus, they face outward and inward at once.” [O’Donohue, Anam Cara, p. xvi]

All that words can do is point and hint beyond themselves. And even this is not so easy as one needs to look at those words from the edge of the eye rather than straight on. We must throw away the certainty of dictionaries in order to be able to move past the liminal threshold of words.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 7, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Posted in Jungian Psychology

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautifully written, Robert…at once a challenging and right-on perspective. I have been away from my own words and others for quite a while now, having been lost in photographing the world around me, but I miss them, crave them sometimes…and know they are ever waiting. Thank you…..

    Scott

    December 7, 2013 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

