Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Darkness Absolves Everything

leave a comment »

Dawn on the Canadian prairie.

Dawn on the Canadian prairie.

I have returned to some old writing that I had set to the side some time ago. It appears as though it might be time to deal with it at this point in time. It is a difficult work to process and bring to the light of day. I guess I should more properly say that the work had decided to retreat into its own night, that it wasn’t yet time to fully be exposed. As I begin working again from its beginning, testing what has been written for resonance from where I now stand, I am aware that this might yet be just another stage in its birthing, that it might yet retreat into night and darkness.

The world rests in the night. Trees, mountains, fields, and faces are released from the prison of shape and the burden of exposure. Each thing creeps back into its own nature with the shelter of the dark. Darkness is the ancient womb. Nighttime is womb-time. Our souls come out to play. The darkness absolves everything; the struggle for identity and impression falls away. We rest in the night.” [O’Donohue, Anam Cara, p. 2]

This is an interesting concept for me, that “darkness absolves everything”. I have noticed that as I re-approach the old writing, that I am less judgmental and that I am more able to see what was in the past that forms the content of that writing, a certain kind of compassion that isn’t about blame or forgiveness. Rather, it is as though the darkness of being set aside rather than continuing to expose it to the harsh lights of my critical and bruised ego, has allowed the story to be told a chance to be more fully and honestly told. I will see.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 8, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

