Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

When Things Fall Apart – Poetically

with 2 comments

NakedPoetry

By The Sea and On The Prairies

I am again writing poetry, getting a collection put together with the intention of publishing the second in a series of Naked Poetry books. I have written seven poems so far and anticipate somewhere around forty or more poems when all is said and done. The poems are arising out of my re-reading, again, the book, When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times, by Pema Chödrön. I am dividing the poetry into ten parts with a minimum of four poems for each part. As with my first book in the series, there will be photographs for each poem.

When Things Fall Apart - Pema Chödrön

When Things Fall Apart – Pema Chödrön

The first part of the poetry book is Fear is Natural and I have written four poems based on pages 1 to 5 in Chödrön’s book, Chapter 1. I am bringing the first poem here for you to read, and perhaps hear. I do look forward to hearing from you. And now, the poem.

Fear is Natural

The door is there, within reach
Beyond the door an unknown
Or is the unknown on this side
Within the body that stands
At the door peering out into
The darkness

Clothing has been dropped
Into a pile beside the door
Discarded peelings exposing
The soft fruit of a body still
Trying to hide from itself
And the darkness

Eyes look out to the shadows
Moving, appearing, disappearing
Denying these night visions
Detached from body sensation
While the shadows look back
From the darkness

Darkness looks back and smiles

Written by Robert G. Longpré

December 20, 2013 at 3:17 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert, it has been a long time. I was browsing through some old poetry (yes, looking for book material), and came upon a poem that was inspired by something I read on your blog. The poem is about fear, mostly fear of self. So, I came looking for you and find that you are in a very similar place. Not unusual, as that is what drew me to your blog in the first place. Am leaving the URL for the poem I found and once again, must thank you for the inspiration. Happy Holidays,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/better-the-bogeyman-you-know/

    Elizabeth

    December 24, 2013 at 11:21 am

    • Thank you for telling me about how my writing inspired a poem. I looked again at your site and again liked what I saw there. Write on, Elizabeth.

      rgl

      January 23, 2014 at 6:25 pm


Leave a Reply

