Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Pulling the Scattered Pieces Together

with 2 comments

Family enjoying the main beach in Playa del Carmen - family time.

Family enjoying the main beach in Playa del Carmen – family time.

It’s not so easy to get posts up as my Internet connection at our Playa del Carmen apartment are very weak to say the least. I have an easier time logging on with my tablet, but find that too much of a nuisance in trying blog. There has been a change in my blogging intentions as I have found myself too split in focus. There is no doubt in my mind that in all of my interests, Jungian psychology stands in first place. The naturist lens blog site is now shut down so that I can focus here as connection permits. There are other reasons which have as much to do with the naturist community and the mindset of the modern western world. I have no interest in being an activist, just in exploring ideas and ways of being in this world. With that said, I will pull back my attention to Through a Jungian Lens.

The dismantling of Through a Naturist Lens is not a statement of regard or lack of regard for naturism. I will still continue to view life through multiple lenses such as Buddhist, Naturist, Poet, Jungian, Family, Political and Environmental. I will do so as the spirit moves me, here at Through a Jungian Lens. Of course, recognizing that I have a much larger audience here, a more diverse audience, the images will be appropriate for that audience.

Writing projects are piling up for me in the background. The second volume in the novel series continues to grow slowly as I seem to spend less time writing and more time strolling the beach with my life partner, soaking up the sun – time well spent. Life has its priorities that pull us unpredictably. I need to honour the pull of the psyche and the soul. And so now, I send this off to you.

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 17, 2014 at 9:18 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Synthesis is good! I think there are some very intriguing questions and hopefully some answers that can come from a synthesis of the mental, physical and spiritual dimensions that Jungian Psychology, Buddhist Philosophy and Naturism can bring. And can be expressed in writing, poetry and photography.

    Mightier minds than mine of course will need to struggle with the questions but I do look forward to the conversation.

    Both from an individual level psyche and the current global psychosis things appear to me at least to be in pretty bad shape. There are any number of “movements” that have fairly precisely identified “the problem” but seem to be proposing solutions that are clearly making little difference.

    In Jeremy Rifkin’s “The Empathic Civilization” he makes the point that human civilization is in serious trouble and that greater empathy is a route to fixing the problems. However, he does not have a prescription for achieving greater empathy or at least a sufficient degree to save us from ourselves.

    Perhaps we need to start with the individual psyche but also move the global community to where empathy is more the norm than the exception. Collectively the global community needs to reverse the Picture of Dorian Grey that we have become to once again see our human face.

    This is, perhaps, where one particular form of naturist practice, informed by Jungian Psychology and Buddhism, can make a difference individually and collectively.

    Bill Rathborne

    January 17, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    • It will be a conversation, but one that doesn’t hope for a resolution or answers. Rifkin;s delusion that the world is becoming more empathic seems to be a cashing in on the money to be made from a horde of New Agers wanting pie in the sky positive aphorisms behind which they won’t have to smell the garbage of a real world.

      rgl

      January 23, 2014 at 6:35 pm


Leave a Reply

