Through a Jungian Lens

See new site URL – http://rglongpre.ca/jungianlens/

Hebrews 4:13

with 2 comments

Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do. [Hebrews 4:13 – King James Version of the Bible]

I’ve read quite  few commentaries on this chapter and verse written by learned Christian men, some of them so esoteric that I wonder if even the authors we able to follow their twists and turns in an attempt to decode these thirty words. Basically in simplified English it says that we are all Naked Before God in spite of any and all attempts to hide. We are naked in our thoughts, words and deeds. Nothing we wear, say, do; no mirrors of distraction, no ad campaign, no quibbling about meaning or about context can let us hide the truth of who we are. That’s about it.

So, why do we try to hide? Why do we hide ourselves from those we love, those we hate, those we don’t even know though we fear being exposed in front of just about every living being – that is we fear being truly naked. Not only do we hide our fullness of who we are from others, all others; we hide from ourselves.  Why? Another easy question with a simple answer. We are scared shitless.

I am writing poetry again after a three-week hiatus. I found myself stopped up tight after trying to force a theme and collection for my next poetry book. The poetry was fully dominated by my ego, by my head. Now, I am daring myself to to hold still long enough so that what I hide from others and myself may make an appearance. Like some ancient Egyptian priest, or Hindu sadhu, or pagan medicine man – I prepare myself for this holy work by stripping away everything I can: physically, psychologically, ideology, theology. Then Naked Before God and the cosmos, I listen and record what I hear. I don’t dare call what appears as truth for everything is truth. I don’t dare call what I hear as the voice of God for everything is the voice of God. I dare not even call it imagination for that also belongs to God who imagined all that is, all that was and all that is yet to be.

~ ~ ~

Standing Naked Before God

Sewing fig leaves without needle or thread
Desperate to hide shameful nakedness
What was good is now evil
Being made in the image
And ashamed of being in that image

And the author laments
Paradise lost for his creation
Yet promises paradise’s return
When shame is overcome
A paradise where no needles
Or thread, or fig leaves
Will conspire to hide creation
Conspire to deceive the creator

Standing erect
In the image
Radiating light in darkness
Standing naked
Before God

2014 01 20 – Playa del Carmen, Casa Verde

Written by Robert G. Longpré

January 21, 2014 at 7:05 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found your blog recently. I enjoy it a lot.
    I agree that it is shame that keeps me from Ggod. It is shame that keeps me from me which to me is the same as being kept from Ggod.
    Thanks again for your wonder full words.
    Jim

    Jim

    January 21, 2014 at 10:04 am

    • Thanks, Jim. I’m glad you found your way back here. I hope that there is enough here to have you hang around for a while.

      rgl

      January 23, 2014 at 6:39 pm


Leave a Reply

